Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MatSci 155 - Mechanical Behavior and Design Principles - Summer 2020: Group Assignment

Working in Groups

Some hints for achieving success iin group projects:

  1. establish a group leader to keep everyone focused and on task
  2. contract with one another about what each will deliver
  3. share information widely
  4. work from an outline
  5. remember that group effort contributes to defining everyone's outcome
  6. use MS Word Tracking - activate on the "Review" tab to visually show all revisions
  7. consider using a platform such as Google Drive to share writing passages and ideas - you will need to register  or share Google Docs (http://www.google.com/google-d-s/b1.html) - you can find additional information about Google Apps for UCI users at http://www.google.uci.edu/
  8. Arrange to share information and meet up about your group assignments & projects via Zoom or Skype or another open conferencing site so you can share content and practice presentations for final project

Professional Societies

Journals Issued by Professional Engineering Societies

Reference Works

Migration to SciFinder-n beginning June 16, 2020

  • We will have both versions, SciFinder-N and SciFinder Classic. CAS has not yet set a sunset date for old SciFinder.
  • We don’t need to do anything different with our registration links. SciFinder accounts will work with both versions, even though SciFinder-N isn’t mentioned on the actual registration pages at CAS. You will need to transfer the "Keep Me Posted" alerts manually because they will not transfer over automatically.
  • Anyone who has a SciFinder account now can go to scifinder-n.cas.org and login.

Updated: Mitchell Brown (June 9, 2020)   contact at mcbrown@uci.edu

Sources and Databases - Finding Articles

There are many sources and dependent on your topic, you will find different resources more valuable or relevant.  Use the UC eLinks to connect to fulltext article.

If you need articles from 2019 or 2020 from any Elsevier journal that you find on Science Direct or via any database, you can request them directly using the following methods:

  1. find the citation in Science Direct and click on the red PDF icon in the top center of the screen "Get Access" and then click on SFX Context Sensitive Linking and it will take you to the "How to Get It" screen - click on first "InterLibrary Loan Request" and complete the template/form by entering your 16-digit Library Card/Account Number found just below your name on your UCI ID Card - begins with 2197..... - that identifies you, click to next page and complete the form confirming you want a copy after you enter your eMail address.  In the notes field please enter "need ASAP for a class project in SS I."  The Libraries will supply you a copy that we purchase and send the PDF directly to you and you can save in a folder/on a shared drive and your entire group can read it.  This usually takes 1-2 days.
  2. Enter full citation in this form and add your ID # and submit with same Note from above

Hints for Researching Group Topics

Group 1 - Bridge Cable Materials

Recommended search terms or keywords: Cable stayed bridges; Bridges- Design and construction

Recommended Sources: ASCE Digital Library; Compendex; Engineered Materials Abstracts

Group 2 - Forging Process

Recommended search terms or keywords: Forging - will be more relevant if you add your material or specific process like hot dye, etc

Recommended Sources:  Knovel; SpringerLink; Engineered Materials Abstracts;

Group 3 - Materials used in Rockets (stainless steel on Space X's Starship)

Recommended search terms or keywords: Space rocket design;

Recommended Sources:  Google Scholar; Proquest Materials Science & Engineering Collection; AIAA Digital Library; Compendex; SAE Mobilus; ASME Digital Collection; Factiva; also consider newscasts like https://www.digitaltrends.com/cool-tech/spacex-starship-stainless-steel/ (March 13, 2020)

Group 4 - Mechanical Characteristics of Coatings for Airplane Turbine Engines (Yttrium Stabilized Zirconia)

Recommended search terms or keywords: Yttrium stabilized zirconia AND airplane turbine engines

Recommended Sources: Proquest Materials Science & Engineering Collection; AIAA Digital Library; Compendex; SAE Mobilus; ASME Digital Collection; ASM Handbooks

Group 5 - Mechanical Failure of the Titanic

Recommended search terms or keywords: Mechanical failure AND RMS Titanic

Recommended Sources: Compendex; Proquest Materials Science & Engineering Collection; see book  Titanic Corrosion, 2019

Group 6 - Space Materials

Recommended search terms or keywords: consider specific materials; materials for space exploration; materials found in space; materials for space rockets - need more definition & clarity

Recommended Sources: AIAA Digital Library; Proquest Materials Science & Engineering Collection; Compendex; SAE Mobilus; Engineered Materials Abstracts

Group 7 - Stainless Steel in Construction

Recommended search terms or keywords: building - stainless steel; Stainless steel structures

Recommended Sources: ASCE Digital Library; ASM Handbooks, Compendex; Proquest Materials Science & Engineering Collection

Group 8 - Nanotechnology: "Fullerenes," "Carbon Nanotubes," and "Nanoparticles

Recommended search terms or keywords: Fullerenes; Carbon nanotubes; Nanoparticles; Nanotechnology

Recommended Sources: ENGnetBASE; Knovel; Proquest Materials Science & Engineering Collection; TransTech

Group 9 - Materials in Theme Park Design

Recommended search terms or keywords: again the more specific the material the better the search outcome;

Recommended Sources: Proquest Materials Science & Engineering Collection

Group 10 - Semiconductors on Portable Devices (if you can define the device the search outcome will be more relevant)

Recommended search terms or keywords: Nanostructured materials; Semiconductors

Recommended Sources: SpringerLink; Compendex; IEEE Xplore; Web of Science; SPIE Library (optics)

Patents

Standards & Specifications