Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MAE 151 - Mechanical Engineering Design - Winter 2020: Engineering Resources

Resources

You may want to visit the Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Research Guide.  There are guides for other departments in Engineering, too.  Many of these extracted resources are likely to be helpful.

Compendex - the Engineering Index or Ei from 1884+.   Reflects commercial and scholarly publishers alike for engineering output.  Use UCeLinks for fulltext.

Inspec, 1898+ - premier database for physics, astronomy, electronics, computer sciece, acoustics, geophysics, mechaical & production engineering, information technology.  Heavily concentrated in conference papers/proceedings.

ASME Digital Collection - full digital library of ASME publications

SAE Mobilus, 1998+ - output from the Society of Automotive Engineers which includes large volume of content in aerospace as well.

AIAA Research Library, 1963+ - covers aeronautics and astronautics

IEEE Xplore Digital Library - largest engineering society with biggest publishing output in all areas of electrical engineering & computer science

Web of Science, 1900+ - high impact journals across sciences, social sciences and humanities

Scopus, 1960+ - largest global output in sciences in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research offering metrics about content.

Begell Digital Library - collection of journals, proceedings and books from Begell House with search engine.  Coverage strongest in heat transfer, atomization & sprays, fluid dymanics, radio & telecommunications engineering and nanoscience.

Google Scholar - Conduct a search in this database making sure that you are connected to VPN or on campus so you can use the UC eLinks to obtain fulltext article.  Output can include tech reports, book chapters, theses as well as conference papers and journal literature.

 

 

Standards

For a full roster of what is available at UCI and how to identify and obtain standards please consult the Standards & Specifications Research Guide. 

The major database at UCI for standards is the ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library.

Other collections of collections of standards are available via the IEEE Xplore, SAE's Ground Vehicle Standards, etc.

Patents

PATENT RESOURCES - the following sources are highly recommended but for additional direction, please consult the Subject Guide for Patents - you will be restricting your searches to US Patents and there is a box there for how to read & understand a patent.  When using some of the following databases, you may find some references to European patents (EP#) - sometimes US companies, like Medtronics register for foreign patents hoping that it will take less time to successfully be awarded the patent.  Opening up the illustrations or drawings in some patent databases may require special TIFF software - record the patent # and search in another database or follow instructions on how to download special TIFF software. 

Images

For visual images you may want to consult sources such as the following resources or consult the Visual Arts: Images Resource Guides for Science & Engineering and make sure that you have the proper rights to use or copy images - that they are Open Access or not copyrighted.