Resources - UPPP 101 History of Cities - Winter 2023 - Research Guides at University of California Irvine

Finding Information

Searching UC Library Search, you will want to restrict to "Available online" on the left sidebar and to books or videos or websites, etc and may want to enter subject headings or keywords such as:

Cities and towns

Name of City - history

Globalization

Urbanization - Country - City - example (Urbanization - Korea (South) - Seoul

Urbanization - Political aspects (or Social aspects)

and then restrict to "available online" and sort so that you get the newest content loaded first.

Or you can use any of the Reference Guides listed below

Special resources for demographic and statistal data related to cities in US & internationally

This long list of resources provides coverage for both US cities and international cities. Based on population, demographic analysis, environmental and geographical frameworks, the socio-economic coverage, specific coverage for history and other elements of social change can be found using a variety of these sources. Make sure that you consult a variety of sources and verify the dates that the data reflects because those details dictate the accuracy of your research and reporting.

The top of the list contains sources for US followed by international and then resources about cities including reference works, indexing sources that will take you to journal articles and other references.

Proquest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Population -- Births, Deaths, Marriages, and Divorces -- Health and Nutrition -- Education -- Law Enforcement, Courts and Prisons -- Geography and Environment -- Elections -- State and Local Government Finances and Employment -- Federal Government Finances and Employment -- National Security and Veterans Affairs -- Social Insurance and Human Services -- Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings -- Income, Expenditures, Poverty and Wealth -- Prices, Business Enterprise -- Science and Technology -- Agriculture -- Forrestry, Fishing and Mining -- Energy and Utilities -- Construction and Housing -- Manufactures -- Wholesale and Retail Trade -- Transportation -- Information and Communications -- Banking, Finance and Insurance -- Arts, Recreation and Travel -- Accommodation, Food Services and Other Services -- Foreign Commerce and Aid -- Puerto Rico and the Island Areas -- International Statistics. Coverage from 1790-present.
USA.gov
Data and Statistics about the USA. can browse & search by topic, explore data, contains visualizations, metropolitan & micropolitan statistical area analysis by cities showing shifts, other surveys/programs, etc.
American FactFinder
US Census data platform. "Starting in July 2019, data.census.gov will be the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census, and more. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform"-
United States Census Bureau
Efficient and effective way to consult and use US Census Bureau data. Can be restricted to specific locations.
City Data.com (US)
By collecting and analyzing data from a variety of government and private sources, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States. From crime rates to weather patterns,, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States. From crime rates to weather patterns, you’ll find data you're looking on City-Data.com.
US Department of State Country Guides
Country Commercial Guides (CCGs) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. The CCGs were established by recommendation of the Trade Promotion Coordinating Committee (TPCC), a multi-agency task force, to consolidate various reporting documents prepared for the U.S. business community.
Europa World Plus
Contents include: Africa south of the Sahara -- Central and South-Eastern Europe -- Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia -- The Far East and Australasia -- The Middle East and North Africa -- South America, Central America and the Caribbean -- South Asia -- The USA and Canada -- Western Europe -- Comparative statistics -- International organizations.This World series is an indispensable sources of information on world-wide affairs. One concurrent user.
Country Statistical Yearbooks
Excellent and current links to national statistical agencies that may include data for cities in that country. These are linked from Univ of Wisconsin but they are in the public domain.
Global Urban Indicators Database
Issued by the UN. Use the advanced search capabilities on the left side-bar to retrieve higher relevance by theme, series, profile, special reports & data, etc. Provides historical/chronological data to 2017.
UN Population Information Network: World Urbanization Prospects
Provides longitudinal data on urbanization at the country level.
Euromonitor's Passport Cities
Cities is more economically positioned and the promotional literature states: “Cities provides data and analysis on 1,220 of the world’s major metropolitan areas, covering insights like demographic composition, household income distribution, expenditure structure, industrial makeup and employment. Explore city economic profiles and analysis of the consumers within to help move your business forward with a stronger strategic direction.”
World Population Review 2018
Provides demographic changes over last couple of years. Focus is on megacities
EuroStat Cities
Data for European Cities - configured in database to be searched
Metropolis: World Association of the Major Metropolises
For cities with populations of over 1 million. Includes data about population, urban growth & sprawl, agglomerations, and links to a variety of other urban-related web sites.
UN Urban Data
Reflects many elements of urban life in 741 cities.
World Air Quality Report, 2019
Indicates the most polluted cities of the world.
Urban Age Data
Some data may be a little dated. The Urban Age assembles comparative data and visual information on how global cities perform on key spatial, social, economic and environmental indicators.
OECD Digital Library
Searchable by theme and country, the data from member-states of the Organization of Economic Co-operation and Development is easily available.
World Cities in 2018: Statistical Report
Prepared by the UN. Excellent global snapshot of urban strengths and challenges.
World Populations Projections
from 2020 going forward by Worldometer
World Urbanization Prospects 2018
More megacities to come...
World's Cities in 2016
Issued by United Nations - captures major data points & info about megacities
World Populations Prospects 2021: Upgrade
World Population Prospects, 2019
The 2019 Revision of World Population Prospects is the twenty-sixth round of official United Nations population estimates and projections that have been prepared by the Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat.
Cities: An interactive data visual
Cities & Buildings Database
Visual data. "A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web."
Demographia
Rich data in a variety of topics on large urban areas (e.g. urban development, urban land use policies) as well as census data from different countries.
Guardian Article - Rise & Fall of Great World Cities
Example of urban history in multimedia
Urban Studies Abstracts
Major indexing & abstracting source covering urban studies, and related content including urban & policy affairs, urban history, community development with international coverage for journal articles and a more modest book indexing. Can easily search by city.
Sage Knowledge
Collection of diverse reference books that have detailed information on individual cities that can be searched. May include homelessness, urban violence, policing, traffic, consumerism, etc.
Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide, 2011
Promotes environmental thrust of issues such as water, air quality, energy, climate change, transportation for each of the 148 profiled cities of which 27 are international.
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies, 2009
There are entries for major individual cities because of their historical importance or compatibility with other topical themes of this work.
History Compass
Allows you to contextualize within a period. Publishes articles across the entire discipline--spanning centuries and continents. It is a good entry point for the non-specialist

UPPP 101 History of Cities - Winter 2023: Resources

Finding Information

Special resources for demographic and statistal data related to cities in US & internationally