UCI’s Department of Global and International Studies program prepares students for careers that require an interdisciplinary perspective on contemporary global politics, economics, cultures, and history. URL:https://guides.lib.uci.edu/Internationalstudies
"The Crime Report (TCR) is the nation’s only comprehensive news service covering the diverse challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the U.S. and abroad. Staffed by working journalists in New York, Washington and Los Angeles, it is published daily through the year by the Center on Media, Crime and Justice at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York. "
Reporting since 1994 "on the intersection of politics and business, connecting Capitol Hill, K Street, Wall Street and Pennsylvania Avenue for non-partisan coverage of all factors in legislative decisions."
"The Source For News On Capitol Hill Since 1955 ... Roll Call provides essential intelligence and grassroots advocacy resources. As the premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation, we keep our fingers on the pulse of the legislative process ..."
“Newspapers.com Library Edition is an extensive database that provides online access to 3,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.”
Click each link to learn how to activate your complimentary subscription to these newspapers, courtesy of UCI Libraries. You only have to activate once to get started, and renew each year while you are at UCI. VPN required to activate.
"The Almanac of American Politics provides political operators with profiles of every member of Congress, and demographic and historical election data by state and congressional district. The digital edition also includes updated directories for all federal staff. Export full congressional and federal staff directories. Filter your searches by party affiliation, job title, agency, and appointment type to quickly find the information you need."
"Published and hand delivered every day that Congress is in session, NJ Daily is your source for everything happening on the Hill. Provides members with insider access to Congress , from in-depth policy coverage to profiles of key figures and power players on Capitol Hill. Delivered to the desks of all 535 congressional offices and top officials across the executive branch."
"National Journal’s Daybook keeps you informed about the most important events and hearings in Washington. Plan your week with the most comprehensive list of policy events happening in Washington. Search by topic, date, and location, then export the list to keep tabs on the events most relevant to you."
"Hotline’s Wake-Up Call and Latest Edition preview the day’s top stories and election updates. Washington’s most powerful political tracking tool provides you with unbeatable news on campaigns and predictive intelligence on elections. Wake-Up Call distills the morning’s key political headlines while Latest Edition assembles election and campaign news from across the country."
"Race Tracker is the go-to source for data on elections, campaigns, and candidates. A digital, interactive hub that encompasses every detail of each key race so you don’t have to search across multiple sources. Customizable dashboards allow you to quickly pull and download polling data, campaign contributions, issue ratings, and more."