Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

UPPP 152 - Cultural Ecology and Environmental Design - Winter 2019: Assignments


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/UPPP152_Winter2019

Points of departure

Librarian prepared subject guides are recommended as basic sources that direct you to the core resources of that discipline. By becoming introduced to the literature one can then navigate accordingly through historical and forthcoming resources.

Structure of Environmental Design

According to an article by Akadiri, Chinyio and Olomolaiye, Design of a Sustainable Building:  A Conceptual Framework for Implementing Sustainability in the Building Sector (2012), they identify sustainable building issues as responsive to economic, environmental and social sustainability challenges and pressures.

Resources about Japan, Japanese Culture

Extra Credit Options/Resources

Cultural Ecological Study Paper

There are many resources and finding aids that will make this research process exciting and rewarding. You will concentrate on the archival resources that bring to life a culture of your choice to support the traditional or vernacular mechanisms related to either 1) energy conscious or 2) sustainable design.  You will design a culturally appropriate physical setting for the culture studied, in this case referencing Japan.  You may want to incorporate drawings, perspectives, pictures, photos, words, collage, models The following resources are divided into several sections:

  1. Reference & General Works
  2. Finding books and book chapters
  3. Databases - index journal literature
  4. Other academic sources - maps, data, video, etc
  5. Related information sources - interview techniques, etc
  6. Resources related specifically to Japan
"...a surprising history of natural disasters, their impact on our culture, and new ways of thinking about the ones to come Earthquakes, tsunamis, hurricanes, volcanoes--these all stem from the same forces that give our planet life. It is only when they exceed our ability to withstand them that they become disasters. Viewed together, these events have shaped our cities and their architecture; elevated leaders and toppled governments; influenced the way we think, feel, fight, unite, and pray. The history of natural disasters is a history of ourselves."  From Lucy Jones, The Big Ones: How Natural Disasters Have Shaped Us, 2018.
 

Remember that there is a 3D printing station at the MRC/Science Library where you can have small plastic objects printed.

Selected Subject Headings & Corresponding Call Numbers

The following subject headings will be helpful in identifying appropriate materials when search for books, book chapters in Library Search:

Aesthetics - Japanese

Architectural design - Japan

Architecture - Japan

Architecture - Japan - History - 20th century

Architecture, Domestic - Japan

Architecture, Shoin - Japan (Feudal)

Art, Japanese - Philosophy

Buddhist architecture

Castles - Japan

Communal living

Design - Japan

Environmentalism - Asia

Gardens - Japan - History - 19th century

Gardens - Japan - History - 20th century

Green movement - Asia

Industrial design

Interior architecture - Japan - 21st century

Interior decoration - Japan - 21st century

Older people - Dwellings

Smart cities

Sustainable architecture

Sustainable development

Sustainable urban development

Vernacular architecture - Japan

Visionary architecture

Wooden-frame buildings

The call numbers associated with the books are defined by the Library of Congress and materials on a certain subject area are usually together and can be browsed in these areas in the Langson Library, from which you can borrow the books.  Other books are available as eBooks and can be read online (use the VPN). 

BH 39 - Philosophy

BH 221 - Aesthetics & "Sense of Beauty"

NA 1550-1555 - Japanese architecture

NA 7451

NK 2084

SB 63 - landscape architecture; gardens

Reference Works

Finding Books & E-Books

FINDING BOOKS and EBOOKS:  Regardless of the format in print or eBooks, you will search Library Holdings in Catalogs such as those mentioned in the previous box that notes the Online Public Access Catalogs (opacs) and by collections, and by individual titles or authors to locate specific books.  Some collections are publisher specific and are noted below.

  • Online Catalogs:
    • Library Search – UC Irvine Libraries Discovery layer - holdings via Library Catalog option for holdings (Langson Library – LL), Science Library (SL), and Grunigen Medical Library (GML) - note format - can search by keyword or subject heading; records at source level; also can search for articles in contained databases, but not a substitute to search specific databases

       

    • MELVYL– UC-wide holdings (all 10 UC campuses) - easiest way to use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is via MELVYL Request

       

    • WorldCat- Global library holdings with links to UCI holdings

       

    • Global Books in Print - directory of books in print

       

    • Amazon.com- commercial inventory - can be checked for items not in our collection and ordered via ILL
    •  
  • Library of Congress Subject Headings – the authority that offers the structured vocabulary for relevant output for searching ANTPAC & Melvyl by Subject Headings. Keyword searching may retrieve more output but may not be as relevant. Keyword also searches the author, title, source fields and elements in an abstract when searching in a database, as well as the Subject Headings.  One easy way to establish the Subject Headings is to search ANTPAC by Subject (use pull-down tabs) and then when you find a relevant book, scroll down to the list of subject headings and click on one of them and other books in the collection will be retrieved.  Corresponding classification schemes mapped to call numbers are found in this outline.

            Some examples that may work and can be refined by specific countries include:  City planning - Cross cultural studies, Cultural policy, Cultural pluralism, Cultural diversity, Cultural relations, Globalization, Social policy - Cross cultural studies

 

E-Books - as noted there are an increasing number of eBooks to which you have access and most can be read, downloaded and copied at the chapter level. They are all listed in ANTPAC and MELVYL and by individual title and by series. There are many collections of such resources and some of the collections can be searched collectively:

CRCnetBASE - a large collection of Engineering and related books published by the CRC Press and now part of the Taylor & Francis Group. There are many titles in different subject areas - specifically EngnetBASE and within that part of the database are included books on Civil, Mechanical, Biomedical, Electrical Engineering.  

Knovel - a very large database of books in engineering, chemistry and materials science, sustainability energy & development, including many reference works published by a variety of publishers.

Springer eBooks and Series - largest collection of eBooks published by global publisher Springer with imprint dates from 2008 forward available on the SpringerLink platform

National Academies Press - Output of the National Academies of Science & Engineering of commissioned research reports and books.

         Wiley books are also listed in Antpac and the ebooks are on the Wiley Online Library platform

        

 

 

 

 

Databases: Finding Journal Articles

Many of these finding aids contain the UC eLink icon to match UCI holdings with indexed content.  Clicking through this will allow you to gain access to online fulltext articles if available, as well as provide print holdings data.