Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Social Ecology 195W - Field Studies (Kim Section) - Spring 2019: Hints for Assignment


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/SocialEcology195W_Kim_Sp2019

Hints

There are many things that you can do that will reduce the stress in conducting this assignment and writing a major paper.  Follow these hints and you will save time, be better organized and able to meet deadlines.

  1. Read assignments carefully as explained in the course syllabus
  2. Review the paper outline structure and think seriously about the "Social Ecological Aspects" for each of the assignments by reflecting on SE 10 and SE 194 cultural contexts
  3. Consider using a bibliographic managment software package such as EndNoteWeb so that you can easily format your references according to APA Style.  Register for an EndNote Basic account and go through some of the exercises so that you can save citations.  Review the documentation and try one of the tutorials
  4. Write from an outline
  5. Consider context of what is Social Ecology - this is a capstone like experience - relate to social ecology constructs
  6. Define your research question or hypothesis
  7. Conduct literature review in appropriate databases - use the Subject Guides for Social Ecology and the tab on this Course Page marked "Conducting Research" - if you need 10 or 20 references, consider finding double that number in the literature review and then focusing on the most relevant ones
  8. In your section covering the conclusion and recommendations, emphasize the relevance to your field study placement and how it can benefit from your findings and learning
  9. Proofread your paper carefully
  10. You will likely want to use this final paper as part of your portfolio if and when you apply for future internships, professional positions, graduate or professional school since it will bring together your ability to demonstrate that you can handle abstract issues, conduct bibliographic research, synthesize information, treat empirical data and make meaningful conclusions and recommendations or refute with confidence the hypothesis
  11. Consider what part of your content will contribute to the presentation and whether you need some images

Hints for Specific Assignments

Several themes emerge -

  • you can focus on the population you are serving - young toddlers, adolescents, etc - use special features of the databases to create higher relevance to a certain population;
  • geography or spatial location - designate common elements
  • seek out competitive intelligence - what else in the community is like this setting in which you currently work
  • compare public sector with private sector services

 

Bibliographic Style / Citation Formats

There are many resources and tutorials to assist you in correctly formatting your references using a specific style manual.  The goal is to be consistent and use one style manual for referencing all sources in your paper - for specific styles, you may want to use the following resources or consult a full guide on different citation methods:

APA Style Guide

  1. APA Style.org - includes the latest revisions for including online citations 
  2. Several tutorials are noted on the UCI Libraries Quick Reference site under Writing Resources - Style Formats
  3. Consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed., 2010 at any Langson Library Reference Desk at BF 76.7 P83 2010

MLA Style

  1. MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd ed., 2008 - at all Library Reference Desks -  PN147 .G444 2008

Chicago/Turabian Manual of Style

  1. The Chicago Manual of Style, 2010 is now available online

Hints for Individual Projects

Each student has a different field placement and also a different topic for his or her paper.  For each paper, you will want to identify the problem that you are addressing in the field placement and describe the backgound of the assignment, its relationship to the problem you are studying.  For each of the of the following topics, there are some leads about where to search for information.  The needs of populations described as "low socio-economic status (SES)" are very well documented in Economic Working Paper Series from the Bureau of National Affairs and PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service).  If the database listed is not on the list of databases on the tab, Conducting Research look it up via ANTPAC.

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu