Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

ICS 197H - Undergraduate Honors - 2018-19: Organizing & Managing Information


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ICS197H_Fall2018

Style Formats

CITING INFORMATION CORRECTLY - depending on the kind of writing you are doing, you will select a format for bibliographic references or footnotes. (see http://www.lib.uci.edu/online/reference/citation.html) and exercise consistency and accuracy.  If you only use the abstract you usually will not include it in your bibliography.  There are many different examples of standard citation formats or style manuals.  Standard citation manuals most commonly used by computer scientists include:

 

1.  ACM Reference Format - the original style manual does not include electronic resources, thus you should review the list of references at the end of the ACM Word Template to see several examples for journal article, book, conference proceeding.  A list of appropriate journal title abbreviations is noted since journal abbreviations are used.  Most computer scientists submit their professional papers in LaTeX instead of MS Word so there is a separate style manual for that.

2.  IEEE Style Manual - another potentially relevant style guide

3.  Additional references including APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, etc

 

Bibliographic Management Software

In addition to just trying hard to be accurate and consistent in your citation efforts, assistance is available via software that helps you write & cite.  There are several options in selecting Bibliographic Management Software.  This is used to manage information in a customized database environment that you create.  You can upload citations from databases, enter lecture notes up to 8pp, include links to fulltext content; organize it the way you work best so that you can recall it, repurpose it and reapply it when you write.  Finally, you can consistently format your bibliographic references with one keystroke in the format of choice with the latest standards for ePublications.  Unfortunately, neither of these options support BibTeX or LaTeX, only general wordprocessing languages such as MS Word. 

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SYSTEM SOFTWARE - currently several options exist including:

  •  
    1. EndNoteWeb - a free web-based product available from the Web of Science platform - easy to use for Inspec and Web of Science databases.  Does sync up with regular EndNote.  Register and try it.
    2. EndNote - Take the trial before you invest and make sure it is something that you feel comfortable using. The UCI Libraries do not currently  support this via a site-license, thus users must purchase at the UCI Bookstore a copy via academic pricing. It is loaded on a specific computer and is a personal file management system. To learn more about EndNote, review the description and details at http://www.lib.uci.edu/bms/endnote.html
      There are tutorials, details for both MAC and PC support..
    3. Mendeley - a relatively new free, web-based open source product
    4. Zotero - a free product that needs to be downloaded on your computer.  It is a powerful research tool that helps you gather, organize and analyze sources (citations, fulltext, web pages, images and other objects), and lets you share the results of your resarch in a variety of ways.  It supports many of the new tagging that is used to index content.  There is a tutorial on the website to follow and also directions about how it is compatible and an extension of the Firefox browser. 
    5. BMS Subject Guide - describes many options

 

Organizing and Managing Images

There are a number of ways to manage images and you may find these useful.

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu