Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

ICS 197H - Undergraduate Honors - 2018-19: Specialized Resources


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ICS197H_Fall2018

  Finding eBooks

FINDING BOOKS and EBOOKS:  Regardless of the format in print or eBooks, you will search Library Holdings in Catalogs such as those mentioned in the previous box that notes the Online Public Access Catalogs (opacs) and by collections, and by individual titles or authors to locate specific books.  Some collections are publisher specific and are noted below.

E-Books - as noted there are an increasing number of eBooks to which you have access and most can be read, downloaded and copied at the chapter level. They are all listed in Library Search and MELVYL and Next Gen MELVYL by individual title and by series. There are many collections of such resources and the collections can be searched collectively.  * denotes that collection is restricted to UCI affiliates.

More information about eBook collections is on the eBooks Subject Guide and Guide about eBook Devices.

 

Miscellaneous Resources

ANALYTICAL TOOLS -
  1. ISI Journal Citation Reports (JCR) for Science and Social Sciences - online from 1999 but tables include additional years of data through the most recent year.
REFERENCE TOOLS -
  1. Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies
  2. Plunkett's Research Online
BUSINESS RESOURCES - There are many resources that contain information about business and entrepreneurial strategies in biomedical engineering and product development.  The marketing trends, business cycles and company information, business news and investment opportunities are noted on the Business Subject Guide.
 
MEDICAL RESOURCES - The clinical collection is at the Grunigen Medical Library but the Science Library has the largest medical collection.  Please consult the Medical Subject Guide.
 
 
BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SYSTEM SOFTWARE - currently several options exist including:
  1. EndNoteWeb - a free web-based product available from the Web of Science platform - easy to use for Inspec and Web of Science databases.  Does sync up with regular EndNote.  Register and try it.
  2. EndNote - Take the trial before you invest and make sure it is something that you feel comfortable using.
  3. Mendeley - a relatively new free product that must be downloaded on your computer but is web-based and organizes pdfs and promotes sharing - training available on Oct 25, 2012
  4. Zotero - a free product that needs to be downloaded on your computer
  5. BMS Subject Guide - describes many options

FUNDING SOURCES
  1. The Community of Science Database (COS), Pivot
  2. Subject Guide for Resource Grant Sources

 

 

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu