The UCI Library Website is your point of departure as you seek information.
In order to access licensed content and resources, you will either have to use a computer connected to the UCI network which includes access from all campus buildings and residence communities. If you are away from the campus, you must be recognized and authenticated and you can do this by installing the VPN client or using Web VPN.
If you need additional assistance to install this, please consult with OIT at 949-824-2222 open 24/7
Hotspotr : Find a Wi-Fi hotspot in your area with Hotspotr, a Google Maps mashup that relies entirely on user input. As with other Wi-Fi finders, you can search for hotspots by city, ZIP code or place, then get maps, driving directions, phone numbers, etc.
FINDING BOOKS and EBOOKS: Regardless of the format in print or eBooks, you will search Library Holdings in Catalogs such as those mentioned in the previous box that notes the Online Public Access Catalogs (opacs) and by collections, and by individual titles or authors to locate specific books. Some collections are publisher specific and are noted below.
E-Books - as noted there are an increasing number of eBooks to which you have access and most can be read, downloaded and copied at the chapter level. They are all listed in Library Search and MELVYL and Next Gen MELVYL by individual title and by series. There are many collections of such resources and the collections can be searched collectively
CRCnetBASE - a large collection of Engineering and related books published by the CRC Press. There are many titles in different subject areas - specifically ENGnetBASE and within that part of the database are included books on Civil, Mechanical, Biomedical, Electrical Engineering.
Knovel - a very large database of books in engineering, chemistry and materials science including many reference works published by a variety of publishers. UCI does NOT have access to the Sustainability Energy and Development titles yet. Access to all other titles in collection are noted and should be available.
Safari Tech Books Online - collection of eBooks by O'Reilly on IT and computing themes.
National Academies Press - Output of the National Academies of Science & Engineering of commissioned research reports and books.
Wiley / IEEE Books - Available from the IEEE Xplore platform on topics ranging from bioengineering, communication, networking, robotics, signal processing, materials, electromagnetics, general topics, etc. Also on the IEEE Xplore platform is a selective hosting of the MIT eBooks in Computer Science and related fields
SPIE Online Books - Mostly on the subject of optics and photovoltaics.
ASM Books - Available via Knovel and on the ASM platform - covers materials.
Wiley Online Library - Books published by John Wiley as eBooks.
Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Series Collections - there are currently 5 different collections in computer science & engineering and one in Life Sciences known as Colloquium
During Fall Quarter you can consult or verify Library Hours which are:
Monday-Thursday from 8am-11pm
Friday from 8am-6pm
Saturday from 1-5pm
Sunday from 1-9pm
Gateway Commons will be open this quarter nearly 24/7 - on Sunday from 5pm through the entire week closing on Friday at 9pm; Saturday from 5-9pm.
Libraries will be closed on Veterans Day, Monday, Nov 12 and over the Thanksgiving weekend from Thursday, November 22 and reopening on Sunday, November 25.
Your UCI PhotoID will serve as your copy card for xeroxing and printing. It requires that money be added to it by inserting it in one of the Regenerator machines found throughout the UCI Libraries. Enter a few dollars at a time and add to it when it is depleted. Costs will be debited at the rate of 8 cents per copy or xerox made; 12 cents per page of printing and more for color printing.