Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

UPPP 292A Urban Planning Professional Report - 2019-20: Bibliographic & Image Management Software

To support culminating project/thesis
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/PPD_292A_Report_2019-20

Bibliographic Management Software

There are several options for managing bibliographic references and more information about Bibliographic Management Software (BMS): 

1. EndNote and EndNote Basic- a more sophisticated tool but with a steeper learning curve and also requires installing on a personal computer after buying the software - take the trial before you invest and make sure it is something that you feel comfortable using - there is a free limited web-based product available via the Web of Science or Web of Knowledge platform that will not be compatible with the full system unless content is uploaded.

2. Zotero - a free open access web-based product developed as an extension of the Firefox browser often preferred by people in the Sci/Tech subject discplines and which must be downloaded to a specific computer 

3. Mendeley- a free, open source product that is increasingly popular for managing information, especially PDFs. Promotes sharing via different social networking options. Training sessions will be held on Mon., Oct 17 at 10-11:30 am and again on Friday, Oct 28 at 12-1:30 pm in MRC 164

Tools to consult include YouTube videos & tutorials and the following books:

Zotero : a guide for librarians, researchers and educators, 2017; the first edition of this same book (2011) is available in print for checkout and consultation at LL  PN171.F56 P83 2011 and at the Science Library (SL) Reference Collection at the same call number.

 

Organizing and Managing Images

There are a number of ways to manage images and you may find these useful in addition to the Subject Guides on Images and Visual Literacy
  • Digital Image Collections Wikispaces  
    The Digital Images Collections Wiki is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.
  • Flickr - The Commons  
    World's public photography collection/archive. Library of Congress, various museums, and libraries have also posted photographs for you to view
  • The UCI Libraries are providing campus-wide access to a new image management tool for research and teaching.
  • ARTstor Guide - ARTstor Quick-Start Guide

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu