Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Graduate Student Orientation to ICS - 2018-2019: Citation, Bibliographic Management Software & Managing Images


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/GradOrient_ICS_2016_17

  Citing Sources

In order to avoid plagiarism and to honor intellectual integrity, make sure that you cite the authority in a bibliographic reference to anything that is not your original writing or creation - that means when you quote a passage, insert a graphic image, figures, or illustration, that you cite the original source. Unfortunately, LaTeX is not currently supported in any of the Bibliographic Management Software packages. The usual word processing programs such as MS Word is what is used and referenced.  The style manual you choose to follow should document how you cite electronic resources. Standard formats include the following reference elements:

Standard formats include the following reference elements:

For a Journal article or conference proceeding:

Author(s) - last name, first name, MI, - [include multiple authors if noted] (date), Title of article. Source of Article/Title of Journal. volume #, (issue #): pages. If it is only an electronic publication with no reference to print pages, then you cite the DOI - Digital Object Identifier and the date last visited.

If it is a conference paper, then you cite the Source of the Publication, Title of conference, date and location of meeting.

For books, the format is:

Author, editor of volume or chapter, (imprint date). Title of chapter in Title of Book, edited by editor if different. City of Publication: Publisher, page references. Note if it is an eBook.

For full volume:

Author, (date). Title of Book. City of Publisher, Publisher: pages

IEEE Citation Style - The IEEE Editorial Style Manual notes the specific ways that references and footnotes are to be handled.  You will be writing with a model of California Engineer - check it out at the Science Library Current Periodicals Room by journal title or for back issues, by call number TA 1 C28 in the Science Library Drum (round part of the Library)

MLA Style Format is documented in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 2009 at any of the UCI Library Reference Desks at                   REF LIB 2369 G53 2009

APA Style Format  - The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed., 2010 is at Langson Library Reference Desk - REF BF 76.7 P83 2010.  A cheatsheet with many examples of how to cite different types of sources in many formats can be consulted.  Additional recommended resources are noted at this site. 

Other hints:

  1. Avoid plagiarism, be ethical – OVERCITE!
    Plagiarism: what it is and how to recognize and avoid it. A guide prepared by the Writing Tutorial Services, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN http://www.indiana.edu/~wts?plagiarism.html

     

  2. Consult http://www.turnitin.com, a plagiarism detection program - ask your professor if you are interested in this.

     

  3. Be consistent

     

  4. Work on your presentation skills
    • very important now
    • when interviewing for job

     

  5. For additional information, consult with instructor, librarian, examine your style manual.

     

Bibliographic Management Software

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE - allows you to discover, find, manage, recall and apply the citations you retrieve from all formats of work - journal articles, book chapters, edited volumes, standards, specifications, patents, conference papers & proceedings, lectures, etc. Neither Zotero nor EndNote support BibTeX or LaTeX, only the usual wordprocessing languages or Legal Style Manual.  The EndNote Web is a free web-based product that is not entirely compatible with EndNote, the commercial version but will get you started.  For additional information, please visit the Bibliographic Management Software page.

Image Management Software

Image Management Software is increasingly important as computer scientists and technologists are involved in more graphical interfaces.  Like with Bibliographic Software Management, you can create databases and organize the elements anyway that you choose.  You will want to cite the original source.  Several different options exist to how to do this and where to find images.  You are also encouraged to consult the Subject Guides for Images and for Visual Literacy

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu