Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Graduate Student Orientation to ICS - 2018-2019: Finding Articles - Using Databases


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/GradOrient_ICS_2016_17

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check Library Search before requesting an ILL. The MELVYL Request icon found in MELVYL and many databases where the UC eLinks is entered is the most efficient way to submit ILL requests.  When requested item is not found in MELVYL, please use these alternative request forms:

Request Book ILL Form

Request Journal Article ILL Form

Request Government Document 

Request Other

 ILL may take anywhere from 3-10 days depending on method of sending item and due to staffing delays.

Current Periodicals

Current Periodicals is a shrinking collection in print and growing in online content.  Less duplication in multiple formats.  Remember that the  bound Current Periodicas at all libraries, including the Science Library & the Langson Library, are arranged alphabetically by journal title.  This is not a circulating collection.  Pull up the shelves for remainder of unbound issues.  Status of all issues is noted in Library Search. Beginning with 2011, unbound titles for a full year are not being bound and will be shelved along with the bound volumes in Princeton Files in either the Science Library Drum or in the Langson basement.  Annual volumes function more like a book than a serial.

Specialized titles & resources:

Databases

Finding the appropriate or most relevant article or conference paper or proceeding is usually the goal when conducting a literature search.  Indexing & Abstracting Tools or Databases will make this task much more reliable, methodological and efficient.  The sources of these articles and papers is very important - many come from professional or scholarly societies and others come from commercial publishers.  They, plus others are noted on the ICS Subject Guides prepared for each department, Computer Science, Informatics and Statistics and will also have some overlap with the Subject Guide for Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, part of SSOE and the Technical Reports Subject Guide will also be very helpful.

Please note the value of conference papers/proceedings in the computer science literature.  Also technical report literature.  The most important coverage of computer science literature is found in the following databases which have different searching opportunities and cover different content - you should use the UC eLinks to determine whether at UCI have full-text access electronically or in print:

Electronic Journals

Electronic Journals - consult Library Search for access by title or subject heading; consult the UCI Libraries Homepage.  Go to "Research Tools" tab, and then use the pull-down menu and click on "Find Online Resources," and enter element of resource with which you are familiar either by searching or browsing.  UC eLinks support the following publishers which are strong in this subject area:

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu