Research Guides: Urban Planning & Public Policy: Bibliographic Management Software

Citation Formats

Style Manuals

Unfortunately, LaTeX is not currently supported in any of the Bibliographic Management Software packages. The usual word processing programs such as MS Word is what is used.

A common style manual is **IEEE Citation Style**- The IEEE Editorial Style Manual (2017) notes the specific ways that references and footnotes are to be handled.

APA Format

site provided by Purdue University.

Electronic Media and URLs (APA 2007 Revision)
Most recent update in June 2007, this is an online revision and update of section 4.16 of the fifth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Association: Science Library (SL) Ref, BF 76.7 P85 2001.
Writer’s Handbook: APA Documentation Style
Site provided by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.

Bibliographic Management Software

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE - allows you to discover, find, manage, recall and apply the citations you retrieve from all formats of work - journal articles, book chapters, edited volumes, standards, specifications, patents, conference papers & proceedings, lectures, etc. Neither RefWorks nor EndNote support BibTeX or LaTeX, only the usual wordprocessing languages or Legal Style Manual.

For more information please visit the Bibliographic Management Software page.

Mendeley
Known for how to manage PDFs and other retrieved content that is searched for in databases and has a citation. Available as desktop software and web-based. Works well with IE, Firefox, Chrome & Safari platforms.
Zotero
Zotero is a free extension for Firefox 2.0, which enables browsers to capture citation information from Web pages quickly and easily. Must be downloaded to personal computer. Supports nonconventional scripts & images well.
more...less...
Researchers can add searchable notecards to their citations, organize them with tags, attach files to them, arrange them into folders, or export them as formatted citations. Zotero can capture a single citation or an entire results list of sources, which researchers can work with either online or offline.
EndNote Basic
EndNote is another product for Bibliographic Management Software, but it needs to be purchased and is dependent upon access on one computer. EndNote Web is a modified web-based product available via the Web of Science platform.
more...less...
There is an abbreviated free web version available via the Web of Science Databases. However, there is no UCI campus license to the full coverage of EndNote and if one chooses to use EndNote, it is recommended that one go to the UCI Bookstore and purchase it with an academic discount, and load it on a personal computer or laptop. Currently the Libraries provide access to EndNote version 6 in the Multimedia Resources Center (MRC), Langson Library Technology Enhanced Classroom (TEC), Interactive Learning Center (ILC), and in the Grunigen Medical Library at the UCI Medical Center. It is recommended that you take the trial on the Registration Page first before you invest in this product to see how it supports your workstyle.
Complore
Complore encourages scholars and students to save their lectures, articles, and papers in the bibliographic bookmarking service. Researchers can join groups, subscribe to a site-wide RSS feed, and generate BibTeX records.
Bibsonomy
Bibsonomy is a scholarly bookmarking service that offers its users related tags, the ability to create groups, and the ability to export records to BibTeX.
more...less...
Bibsonomy members can construct friends networks, import their del.icio.us links, generate private entries, and import their BibTeX libraries.
ReadCube/Papers
Another source to manage your papers and citations. There is an annual academic student fee of $36/yr. Take the Tutorial to learn whether this resource meets your needs before registering.

Collaborative Software

Overleaf Professional @ UCI
University of California, Irvine is providing Overleaf Professional features for all students, faculty and staff who would like to use a collaborative, online LaTeX editor for their projects. Overleaf Professional features include real-time track changes, unlimited collaborators, and full document history.

Overleaf is designed to make the process of writing, editing and producing your research papers and project reports much quicker for both you and your collaborators. Overleaf can also be linked to other services to best fit into your workflow.

Claim your Overleaf Professional upgrade by signing up (or signing in) below. You'll need to verify a University of California, Irvine email address.
Learning more about Overleaf