Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Drama: Research Articles (Scholarly Journals, etc.)

Starting points for research in drama
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/drama

Drama Databases

Gale Literature Criticism Online * searches multiple Gale drama and literature databases. One can find scholarly author/playwright biographies, critical essays about plays, play reviews, and more from time periods contemporaneous to the original plays to the present. Includes articles from notable series like Drama Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Contemporary Literature Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text * provides full text for over 100 different theatre journal titles, such as Canadian Theatre Review, Contemporary Theatre Review, Asian Theatre Journal, Journal of American Drama & Theatre, etc. Use this database to locate both scholarly articles and also keep track of what's occurring in the profession across the world. Provides access to materials since the early 20th century, but majority of coverage is from 1984-present.

Performing Arts Periodicals * primarily covers the areas of drama, dance, and film. It's especially good for locating performance, book, and recordings reviews; obituaries; and popular news articles. Scholarly articles from main publications are also available.

World Shakespeare Bibliographyis the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2014. Provides brief annotations of books, scholarly articles, productions, and production reviews. Excellent way to locate many professional productions of Shakespeare works since 1960 all across the globe.

Interdisciplinary Databases

JSTORis an absolutely enormous scholarly interdisciplinary article database. You can find articles on all topics here. Is particularly excellent for locating older materials. Coverage generally stops about 3 years prior to current date.

LION: Literature Online * is a one stop shop for English language literature. You can find text criticism, biographical information on authors, and the original texts for poetry, drama, and prose. Criticism entries come from both the MLA International Bibliography and The Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL); these two indeces can be searched together or singly.

MLA International Bibliography * includes coverage in the areas of literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, dramatic arts, and history of publishing from over 4,400 journal titles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

PsycInfo * is a psychology database and includes topics like neuroscience, cognition, etc. If you are performing a character analysis and attempting to understand motivation, this might be a good place to explore classic psychological motivation and how you might apply that specifically to them.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literatureis a great tool to find scholarly journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, reviews, and more primarily related to musicology, ethnomusicology, and music theory. Almost 3/4 million records from over 10,000 journal titles since 1967 are included in this standard database. Use this resource if searching for opera or musical theatre information.

Academic Search Completeis a very large multidisciplinary database providing scholarly and news articles. You can normally locate at least one item on your topic due to the sheer breadth of their coverage.

Reader's Guide Retrospective * acts as an index to many general interest American magazines from 1890-1982. Use this if you are searching for items of popular interest or American culture during the 20th century.

Periodicals Archive Online * is an index to multidisciplinary journal articles from 1770-1996. Includes reviews and criticism. Major relevant subjects covered in this resource include Area Studies, Fine Arts, Folklore, Humanities, Music, Performing Arts, and Sociology.

Selected Major Drama Journals Online from UCI Libraries

Want to stay on top of all of the newest literature in the Drama field? Create a free Browzine account and accomplish it in a snap! It easily allows you to browse journals available through UCI Libraries by subject, put them on your own personal bookshelves, and also be notified when new issues come out. Some of the journals available through this resource are below:

Comparative Drama

Cover of Comparative Drama

Journal of Contemporary Drama in English

Cover of Journal of Contemporary Drama in English

Journal of Dramatic Theory
and Criticism

Cover of Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism

TDR/ The Drama Review

Cover of TDR/The Drama Review

Asian Theatre Journal

Cover of Asian Theatre Journal

Latin American Theatre Review

Cover of Latin American Theatre Review

New Theatre Quarterly

Cover of New Theatre Quarterly

Shakespeare Quarterly

Cover of Shakespeare Quarterly

Studies in Musical Theatre

Cover of Studies in Musical Theatre

Theatre and Performance Design

Cover of Theatre and Performance Design

Women & Performance:
A Journal of Feministh Theory

Cover of Women & Performance: a journal of feminist theory

Theatre Symposium

Cover of Theatre Symposium