"The Almanac of American Politics provides political operators with profiles of every member of Congress, and demographic and historical election data by state and congressional district. The digital edition also includes updated directories for all federal staff. Export full congressional and federal staff directories. Filter your searches by party affiliation, job title, agency, and appointment type to quickly find the information you need."
"Published and hand delivered every day that Congress is in session, NJ Daily is your source for everything happening on the Hill. Provides members with insider access to Congress , from in-depth policy coverage to profiles of key figures and power players on Capitol Hill. Delivered to the desks of all 535 congressional offices and top officials across the executive branch."
"National Journal’s Daybook keeps you informed about the most important events and hearings in Washington. Plan your week with the most comprehensive list of policy events happening in Washington. Search by topic, date, and location, then export the list to keep tabs on the events most relevant to you."
"Hotline’s Wake-Up Call and Latest Edition preview the day’s top stories and election updates. Washington’s most powerful political tracking tool provides you with unbeatable news on campaigns and predictive intelligence on elections. Wake-Up Call distills the morning’s key political headlines while Latest Edition assembles election and campaign news from across the country."
"Race Tracker is the go-to source for data on elections, campaigns, and candidates. A digital, interactive hub that encompasses every detail of each key race so you don’t have to search across multiple sources. Customizable dashboards allow you to quickly pull and download polling data, campaign contributions, issue ratings, and more."
Reporting since 1994 "on the intersection of politics and business, connecting Capitol Hill, K Street, Wall Street and Pennsylvania Avenue for non-partisan coverage of all factors in legislative decisions."
"The Source For News On Capitol Hill Since 1955 ... Roll Call provides essential intelligence and grassroots advocacy resources. As the premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation, we keep our fingers on the pulse of the legislative process ..."
"Alt-Press Watch™ showcases unique, independent voices from many respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from around 200 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news. All of these varied alternative and independent presses are presented in 100% full text, allowing researchers total access to both regional and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues. Providing an alternative to corporate controlled media, the Alt-Press Watch database presents big stories from small sources."
"Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991. With over 344,000 records, the API is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available."
"The Annual Review of Political Science, in publication since 1998, covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology."
"Ethnic NewsWatch is available as two resources, Ethnic NewsWatch™, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which is an historical collection.
Ethnic NewsWatch™, the current file, covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch™ is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1990 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.
Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, the historical file covering the years 1959-1989, offers a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989. Unique perspectives are presented on the most important issues concerning ethnicities and minorities in the U.S. and Canada during the pivotal years of the 1960's, 1970's, and 1980's."
"With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combining hundreds of academic, gray, and popular literature titles, GenderWatch provides researchers with hundreds of thousands of articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace. "
"Hein online is a full text image-based searchable database of legal materials. It currently includes these collections: the Law Journal Library, Bar Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, Session laws Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, the U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Attorney General opinions, and the Legal Classics Library."
"International Political Science Abstracts is published bimonthly by the International Political Science Association. It provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals and yearbooks all over the world."
"The Left Index is a complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Coverage includes more than 507,000 citations and abstracts (with some full text) and spans from 1982 and earlier to present."
"The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year."
"Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online."
"Whether looking at data, books, journals, proceedings or patents, Web of Science provides a single destination to access the most reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Quality, curated content delivered alongside information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools make it easy for students, faculty, researchers, analysts, and program managers to pinpoint the most relevant research to inform their work."
"Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Since 2000, development of the serials list has focused on expanding international coverage. As of November 2005 approximately 1,500+ titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States."
A bill is a legislative proposal brought before Congress in either the House or the Senate. Bills introduced in the House are assigned sequential numbers in the order in which they are introduced and are preceded by "H.R.". Bills introduced in the Senate are assigned sequential numbers preceded by "S.".
govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
GovTrack tracks the United States Congress. Follow the status of federal legislation or learn about your members of Congress -- GovTrack has information on all bills and votes going back over a decade, etc. ...
Overview of the Legislative Process: "Article I of the U.S. Constitution grants all legislative powers to a bicameral Congress: a House of Representatives and a Senate that are the result of a “Great Compromise” seeking to balance the effects of popular majorities with the interests of the states. Our system currently provides for a two-year term of office for House members from the 435 population-based districts. In the Senate, voters of each state elect two Senators, who serve 6-year terms that overlap (such that only one-third of the chamber is up for election in any given election cycle)..."
"Revealing Money's Influence on Politics -- MapLight is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization that reveals money's influence on politics. Elected officials collect large sums of money to run their campaigns, and they often pay back campaign contributors with special access and favorable laws. This common practice is contrary to the public interest, yet legal..."
"Mission: Inform, Empower & Advocate.
The Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the organization aims to create a more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more transparent and responsive government."