Using Databases. - SE 104W - Community Archiving in Social Ecology - Winter 2022 - Research Guides at University of California Irvine

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Other Subject, Resource & Course Guides

Business of Healthcare
Consumer Health Use this guide to find medical resources aimed at consumers.
Demography and Social Analysis (DASA)
Environmental Psychology
Grunigen Medical Library
Medicine Resources Use this guide to help identify resources in Medicine.
Planning, Policy, and Design
Policy & Surveys
Policy Resources Use this guide to help you navigate U.S. and International policy research.
Poverty
Sustainability

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check Library Search before requesting an ILL.

Request Book ILL Form
Request Journal Article ILL Form
Request Government Document

Databases and more

There are many different sources for finding information - these databases cover different content but include journal articles, conference papers & proceedings, book chapters & reviews, government documents from local to global agencies, public policy reports, statistical data, dissertations & theses among other sources.

* indicates restricted to UCI authenticated users

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Agricultural Library, this database contains citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields from across the world.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window ArchiveGrid includes records describing archival materials. It brings together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With more than 1,400 archival institutions represented. researchers can find primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies across the U.S.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) This link opens in a new window With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, this database provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window Industry reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech and healthcare industry sectors. The reports contain detailed analysis of the industry including global market data, competitive landscape, trends, and more.

British Library for Development Studies (BLDS) The British Library for Development Studies (BLDS) has the largest collection of economic and social development materials in Europe and over half of it originates from developing countries. But until now, much of the BLDS physical collection has only been available to visitors to the library or users of its Document Delivery service. BLDS is hoping that its newly-launched Digital Library will help redress the situation by making developing country research more accessible & visible online.
more...less...
The new service, funded by the UK’s Department for International Development, has been created to help decades of research from developing country institutions enjoy a wider global readership. BLDS is working with partner research institutes in Africa and Asia, to digitise their printed publications and host them online so they can be easily found through search engines. Nearly 600 papers have been digitised so far from Uganda, Kenya, Ethiopia, Zimbabwe and India, with more to be added in coming months as BLDS continues building partnerships with research institutes. The publications in the BLDS Digital Library are being made available through a Creative Commons licence which enables future sharing and dissemination of this content by others. Also visit the BLDS Global Projects webpage at http://blds.ids.ac.uk/global-projects
CAB Direct Issued by CABI, this public health database emphasizes international health issues. Consists of the Global health current file (1973 to present) and the Global Health archive (1908 to 1973), which also includes records from the British Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases up to 1983. 80% of the database coverage is from journal articles, but it also covers books, conference proceedings, bulletins, reports and theses for over 9 million bibliographic records, over 130,000 full text articles hosted by CABI and many other authoritative reviews, news articles and reports. For cited sources that are not available fulltext, there are no UC eLinks, so you must consult Library Search to see if access to the journal is available. Consider viewing tutorials listed below.
CAB Direct Tutorials Five different short tutorials on how to more effectively search CAB Direct and retrieve high relevancy citations.
CABI for Systematic Reviews
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online* This database chronicles contemporary public policy by providing daily briefs, research studies, working papers, documents, data and other information to educate users about issues.
CINAHL Complete A full-text database that covers the nursing field widely and also has strong evidence-based content.
Dissertations & Theses Fulltext* Index to doctoral dissertations and masters' theses submitted to the UMI Dissertations database from all participating institutions in North America with a growing collection of foreign content.
ELDIS The aim is to share the best in development policy, practice and research. Browse more than 30,000 summarized documents from over 7,500 development organizations - all available free to download. Share your work with over 80,000 development practitioners. Prepared by the Institute for Development Studies in Great Britain. Includes latest news clips, country information & summaries.
Ergonomics Abstracts* Spans the world of ergonomics and human factors. Also covers related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sports and transport.
Frost & Sullivan Marketing Reports In-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of the following areas that may be useful to big picture of public & global health: Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; among others. Covers 2000 to present, updated as new reports are produced. Includes other powerpoint presentations. Can't be copied.

GIDEON This link opens in a new window Resource for data on Infectious Diseases. Includes data on bacterial, fungal, parasitic and viral infections, vaccines and immunoglobulins, microbes, and drugs.

Global Health Magazine GHM was a major quarterly international magazine that covered a wide range of issues related to global health. Magazine issues can be accessed through globalhealth.org.
Google Scholar Using the ubiquitous Google search features, retrieval will reflect journal articles, books & book chapters, government information and the UC eLinks will note if content will be available locally at UCI.
GreenFILE GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Haz-Map Haz-Map (http://hazmap.nlm.nih.gov) is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work.
more...less...
Haz-Map (http://hazmap.nlm.nih.gov) is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work. Haz-Map links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms. It is one of the products and services made available by the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html).

Chemicals and biological agents in Haz-Map are linked to industrial processes and other activities such as hobbies. Occupational diseases and their symptoms are associated with hazardous job tasks and possible exposure to hazardous agents. Information from textbooks, journal articles, and electronic databases such as NLM's Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB®) is classified and summarized to create the database. HSDB is part of the TOXNET® (http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov) system of databases related to toxicology and environmental health.

Some of Haz-Map's features include: text search capability, browsing by jobs, diseases, or agents, searching hazardous agents by adverse effects, searching diseases by jobs and findings, and automated searches of TOXNET. Definitions of technical terms are available by selecting hyperlinks to the glossary.
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Issue Lab Contains easily searchable free full-text access to thousands of case studies, evaluation, white papers and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems that share the collective intelligence of the social sector. Covers public policy and knowledge mobilization.
LexisNexis Congressional* Lexis Nexis Congressional provides information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present allowing the user to perform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest...
more...less...
Lexis Nexis Congressional provides information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present allowing the user to perform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest. The basic subscription includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present
Online Archive of California CDL is pleased to announce the online publication of approximately 2,000 diverse graphic materials documenting local people, place, and events throughout California.
Oxfam Publications This major global charity does a lot to fight poverty around the globe and has an ambitious publishing output of books, reports, research, evaluations, briefs and factsheets. Working in >90 countries, its history is proven that "Oxfam takes on the big issues that keep people poor: inequality, discrimination, and unequal access to resources including food, water, and land. We help people save lives in disasters, build stronger futures for themselves, and hold the powerful accountable." Fulltext.
PAIS Archive Link* The PAIS archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS annual cumulated bulletin volumes 1 62 published 1915 1976.
more...less...
Subject: Politics -- Bibliography -- Indexes; Economics -- Bibliography -- Indexes; Social sciences -- Bibliography -- Indexes; Legislation -- Bibliography -- Indexes; Political science -- Bibliography -- Indexes
PAIS International* The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460 000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, and more.
more...less...
Subject: Political planning -- Abstracts; Social sciences -- Abstracts
Policy Archive Comprehensive digital database of public policy research for which you must register to use - is free with fulltext content. Communities and individuals deposit content. Currently contains more than 30,,000 documents.
PolicyMap PolicyMap is a fully web-based online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources. Latest new dataset is the Social Needs Index, about local & national trends in homelessness.
POPLINE
Your connection to the world's reproductive health literature
more...less...
POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the INFO Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development. (USAID).

POPLINE contains nearly 360,000 records and has been maintained since 1973 by the INFO Project (formerly Population Information Program). The majority of items are published from 1970 to the present, however, there are selected citations dating back to 1827. The database adds 12,000 records annually and is updated every Monday.

In addition to free text searching, the database can be searched by keywords from the POPLINE Thesaurus , a controlled vocabulary of 2,400+ terms used to index documents in the database.

POPLINE's special features include links to free, fulltext documents; the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles; RSS feeds for topical searches; and many abstracts in French and Spanish.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO provides an international index for scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Risk Abstracts* Recently, increasing scientific attention has centered on the identification and alleviation of risk in today’s world. Risk Abstracts provides a comprehensive source for interdisciplinary perspectives in this evolving field.

Scopus This link opens in a new window An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.

Selected Water Resources Abstracts (1968-2001) An online compendium that provides a searchable index of abstracts relating to water resources and water management.
Social Science Information Gateway
Free database of over 50,000 Social Science Web pages and resources.
Social Services Abstracts
Covers mostly US experiences in social services and community outreach.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes social and behavioral sciences journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. It also covers topics such as culture and social structure; health, medicine and law; policy and planning; religion and science; and women's studies.

SSRN: Social Science Research Network SSRN provides access to the research publications of the social sciences by discipline, promoting interdisciplinary connections. Fulltext content, often considered grey literature containing briefing documents.
Sustainability Science Abstracts* Database explores aspects of sustainable development, human population & demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management & conservation ensuring the attainment of human needs now & in the future.
more...less...
Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find grey literature has also been summarized.
TED Talks TED Ideas Worth Spreading - on a wide variety of topics by specialists who have explored the topic comprehensively and are sharing them in a variety of communications. Highly recommended. Focus in science, public policy, emerging technologies.
Urban Studies Abstracts* The most focused indexing & abstracting source of journal and related literature in urban planning and urban studies. Contains links to increasing volume of fulltext content.
Water Resources Abstracts* Most comprehensive coverage of academic research in water sciences. Selectively included in the AESD database, but encourages more thorough searching and review in this database.

Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.

The Pump Handle

Minority Health & Health Equity Archive
An electronic archive for digital resource materials in the fields of minority health and health disparities research and policy. It is offered as a no-charge resource to the public, academic scholars and health science researchers interested in the elimination of racial and ethnic health disparities.

News Releases

This box will link to current news releases about public health issues, new pandemics, etc.

New York Times - Health Section

Media - Going Viral: The Mother of All Pandemics

Increasingly, podcasts, video and other multimedia illustrate the power and impact of epidemic disease on all facets of human life. This series provides listeners with the background about the conditions under which the next major pandemic might emerge and hoping for a better outcome than the 1918 flu had.

Going Viral: The Mother of All Pandemics
Marking the 100th anniversary of the devastating flu epidemic of 1918 this series of 8 podcasts explore multiidisciplinary content and viewpoints of the molecular research, social history and some current artistic engagements.

SE 104W - Community Archiving in Social Ecology - Winter 2022: Using Databases.