Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SIRiPods - Summer 2021: Research Resources

Interdisciplinarity

Following are some hints and resources for approaching this SIRiPod sessions - not at all exhaustive but some ideas to consider when reviewing the options for choosing research paths and sources:

I. Controlling Exposure to Wildfire Contaminants:

  • Web of Science
  • Scopus
  • PubMed
  • Agriculture & Environmental Sciences Database
  • Compendex
  • Engineering & Materials Science Collection
  • ASCE Digital Library
  • EPA: Wildfires and Health Effects Research; Affecting Water
  • SciFinder Scholar
  • Wildfires: California Resources Board
  • data from utility companies, other government agencies such as USGS;
  • News resources - newspapers, media, editorials, documentaries, E&E Publishing, ClimateWire, GreenFile, Politico & PoliticoPro-California, Engineering Case Studies

II. Medical Innovation with Virtual Reality

  • BCC Research
  • Plunkett Research Online
  • PubMed
  • Scopus
  • Compendex
  • Gartner Academic Campus
  • visit the Mindscape Commons trial (must use VPN - good through August 2021) - high use content that may be useful reflects videos and cases about Moments and Excellence Interact Simulations, Virtual Microcases, Home Assessments, Alzheimer's Dementia, Poverty & Homelessness

III. Sustainable Energy and Fuels

  • Compendex
  • Materials Science and Engineering Collection
  • SciFinder Scholar
  • Web of Science
  • ASME Digital Collection
  • Agriculture & Environmental Science Abstracts
  • Sustainability Science Abstracts
  • SAE Mobilus
  • BCC Research
  • News resources - newspapers, media, editorials, documentaries, E&E Publishing, ClimateWire, GreenFile, Politico & PoliticoPro-California, Engineering Case Studies

Finding Articles, Conference Papers/Proceedings, News, Data, Technical Literature/Reports

Finding Articles, Papers, Proceedings, News by Using Databases

Depending on what you are researching or seeking, what the purpose of your query is and from what time period will determine where you go. There are many databases that cover different subjects, content, dates and are organized in multiple ways. Basically, you seek, find, discover, and refine your search strategy to increase the relevancy of the output. Licensed databases tend to contain the scholarly, scientific resources that are not freely available to everyone because they require a license. Access to this information is available to current UCI students and you must configure your computer to recognize and authenticate you if you are connecting from off-campus.

* denotes resources restricted to UCI affiliates.  The following databases support different aspects of engineering, science and business information: