Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MAE 295 - Research Communication in Engineering - Winter Quarter 2021: Finding Aids, Databases & Resources

Finding Aids & Databases

To retrieve the fulltext, most of these databases contain the UC eLinks  icon that matches our holdings and provides link to content if we have it or a link to REQUEST to get via ILL or Document Supply.  Otherwise an embedded link to a pdf or a publisher's icon is occasionally found.

Keeping Current

Staying current isn't easy.  There are different methods and among the most common are Really Simple Syndication feeds known as RSS.  You register and the new content comes to you.  Sources of such feeds include scholarly organizations and societies, publishers, newspapers, library sites and blogs.  RSS feeds include text-based content as well as audio capturing via podcasts and lectures and even videos or vodcasts.  The news media provide RSS feeds for rapidly changing content posted to their sites as digital coverage is increasingly used. Blogs amplify some alerts and can be added to your RSS feed reader too.

A RSS feed reader or aggegator that manages your subscriptions or registrations is helpful. Many scholars rely upon Feedly which is a basic website and is also available as an app for Android and iOS but your web browser like Firefox or Safari is likely to have built-in RSS aggegators.

Current Awareness Tools & Alerts by Journal

There are many different tools that you can register for to get alerts about new issues & releases and new content on special topics.  A good, thorough overview of Alert Services: A How-To-Guide (Iowa State University) contains very useful information.  The following list is  combined for both alerts by topic in most of the databases and some of the platforms, otherwise it is by specific journal.  Basically you receive Tables of Contents eMailed directly to you.  Many journals also broadcast new content on Twitter or via RSS feeds.  Some are features in databases and publishers' platforms and others are independent pieces of software. Among them are:

A good, thorough overview of Alert Services: A How-To-Guide (Iowa State University) contains very useful information.

 

Publisher Platforms (for fulltext content)

Society Platforms & Databases

Data Visualization

Preprint Servers

A preprint is an academic journal article in draft form, prior to peer review. A postprint is a name given to a journal article once it has been peer reviewed. Both of these types of documents are known collectively as eprints. Preprints allow you to access th latest research, without having to wait for a paper to be peer reviewed, accepted, revised and published.  The engineering landscape is still slim.

Institutional Repositories

Journal Clubs

Many institutions and labs run journal clubs to share readings and research strategies and findings.  Some examples include:

Update on Elsevier 2019+ Access

The UC did not renew the Elsevier journal package from 2019+.  Articles can be requested via ILL/Document Supply function from ScienceDirect page.  This also applies for any content for which we did not have perpetual access.  Delivery is free & fast. Check ScienceDirect for access or use the Request function in databases to order articles.  To request articles from 2019+, go to ScienceDirect, click on "Get Access", then on "SFX Content Sensitive Linking" and then on 'InterLibrary loan Request" and enter the 16 digit number on the lower left hand corner of your UCI PhotoID (if you do not have that you should contact circadm@uci.edu using your UCI eMail address and ask how you can obtain a bar code).  Complete form with your UCI eMail address and you be sent a pdf of the article shortly at no cost to you.  Be selective and mindful of how much you order

Metrics of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering - High Impact

Open Access Journals in Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering and related fields

There are different forms of OA (Gold, Green and today many are hybrid, plus variations of Yellow, Blue, White that determine different policies that allow different archiving of preprints.  In addition to these sources of all open content, there are many sources that contain hybrid articles where the author pays a fee after acceptance to publish OA at time of release.

Pitching Ideas

Pitching ideas whether it is for funding, for entrepreneurship is a different task.  Some resources that can help perfect that process include: