Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UPPP H30F - Cities:Focal Point for Sustainability Problems and Solutions - Spring 2020: Assignments

CA Map

CA Sustainability Data

Project Proposals

Some hints and resources to assist as you research your different projects and i direct you to other Research Guides where most of these databases are listed.  Please be reminded that:

  • we are only providing ILL this quarter for eContent and not all of it can be borrowed;
  • some databases are on one of two major platforms and can be searched simultaneously, but you may lose some of the special functionality when not searching the unique database by itself

The most relevant Research Guides that support these topics include the following - you should consult the resources noted under either "Finding Articles" or "Database":

The list of databases is quite long - be sure you use the UC eLinks for online fulltext access if it is available.  The UC did not renew its subscription to the Elsevier Journal package for 2019 going forward .  This dictates that content from those journals be requested via ILL. Also selective content for which the UC does not have perpetual access must be requested.  Delivery is free &  fast but not immediate and requires planning for access for current content from journals such as Lancet, Lancet Oncology, Cancer Letters, Cancer Epidemiology, Gene and hundreds of others.  Check ScienceDirect for access or use the Request function in databases to order articles, or find alternative sources.  When searching pay special attention to the publisher.  To request articles from 2019+, go to ScienceDirect, click on "Get Access", then on "SFX Context Sensitive Linking" and then on "InterLibrary Loan Request" and enter the 16 digit number on the lower left hand corner of your UCI Photo ID (if you do not have that you should contact circadm@uci.edu by eMail using your UCI eMail address and ask how you can obtain a bar code). Complete form with your eMail address and you will be sent a pdf of the article very shortly at no cost to you.  Be selective and mindful of how much you order.

1.  The Impacts of Public Transportation in Long Beach and Riverside - there are different forms of public transportation - light rail, trains, senior vans for local trips, buses,etc. 

The most relevant Research Guides are:

The major databases are:

2.  A city's environmental policies and how they affect city sustainability (Long Beach and Bakersfield)

The major Research Guides are:

The major databases are:

Potential data sets that may be relevant:

3.  Impacts of Crime and Neighborhood Safety in Compton, California versus Anaheim, California

The major research guides are:

The major databases are:

4. Comparing Violent Crime Rates and Greenspaces in California Cities:  Santa Ana and Irvine

The major research guides are

The major databases are:

5.  Homelessness in Santa Ana & Los Angeles

The major research guides are:

The major databases are: 

6.  Poverty among women in Huntington and Long Beach

The major research guides are:

The major databases are:

Data Sources may include:

7.  Gentrification in Santa Ana and Anaheim

The major research guides are:

8. Environmental Sustainability and Education: Riverside and Long Beach

The major research guides are:

The major databases are: