Business: Healthcare

Healthcare:  Trade and Academic Articles

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
A massive database covering virtually all business subjects. Thousands of entries for both scholarly and trade business and healthcare publications.  Trade publications include: Healthcare Executive, Modern Healthcare, Medical Marketing and Media, HFM (Healthcare Financial Management), and Healthcare Purchasing News.  

Medical Economics
Access: UCI
UCI has text-only access (i.e.. no images).  A trade magazine for office-based physicians. Coverage includes: challenges in practice management, patient relations, malpractice, electronic health records and other technology, career, and personal finance. 

PubMed
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
A massive database of over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles.

Health Care Management Review
Access: UCI
A peer-reviewed journal on topics including finance, marketing, labor relations, cost containment, quality assurance, planning, computers and technology, staff recruitment, pay and benefits, etc.

Health Economics
Access: UCI
A peer-reviewed journal on all aspects of health economics. Its scope includes the determinants of health and its definition and valuation, as well as the demand for and supply of health care; planning and market mechanisms; micro-economic evaluation of individual procedures and treatments; and evaluation of the performance of health care systems.

Health Affairs
A peer-reviewed journal on the intersection of health, health care, and policy. Analysis and discussion on improving health and health care, and addressing such issues as cost, quality, and access.  

Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)
Access: UCI
A peer-reviewed journal with articles on a diverse range of medical topics, covering important issues that affect medicine, health, health care, and health policy.

New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)
Access: UCI
A peer-reviewed journal with research articles and key information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice.

Healthcare:  Pipeline

ASM Medical Materials Database
Access: UCI
Geography: US
Materials data to support medical device design. The database features both materials properties and biological response data for medical device designers.  Also includes a searchable list of device and material producers. Producers listed  may operate in the US and/or around the world, but have medical devices approved by the FDA for use in the US.  Content in other sections, such as materials, coatings and drugs has no region specificity.

• Learn this search!

​PitchBook
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global
Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries.  Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

• Keyword Search Clinical Trials > Screeners [tab] > Companies in clinical trials.

Patents
This page on the Business Research Guide lists and describes several sources for exploring patents.  

Investext (via Mergent Online)
Access: UCI
Geography: Global
This replaces the Thomson ONE database.  Investext, i.e. the Thomson Reuters Embargoed Research Collection, offers analyst research reports from more than 1,700 brokerages, investments banks and independent research firms around the globe, including Clarivate Analytics' Cortellis reports, which give a comprehensive overview of medical companies, including their pipeline portfolio.  

• Learn this search!

PAREXEL Biopharmaceutical R & D Statistical Sourcebook
Access: UCI
Print book in the Langson Library Reference Collection.  (Reference books cannot be borrowed.)
Call Number:  HD9665.4 .P37 2017  
R&D statistics, trends, and proprietary market intelligence and analyses on the biopharmaceutical industry. Supported by thousands of graphs, illustrations, and analyses, the Sourcebook provides the latest intelligence on every aspect of biopharmaceutical development – from product discovery, to R&D performance and productivity, to time-to-market trends. 

ClinicalTrials.gov
Access: Public
A database, provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.

Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Access: Public
FDA is responsible for protecting public health by regulating human drugs and biologics, animal drugs, medical devices, tobacco products, food (including animal food), cosmetics, and electronic products that emit radiation.  (The FDA's article "Is It Really 'FDA Approved'" is a great overview.)

• Device Approvals, Denials and Clearances
• Drug and Biologic Approval and IND (Investigational New Drug) Activity Reports

Healthcare:  Health Conditions

HCUPnet
Access: Public
​A free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP).  The system provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties.  Includes data (as available) for on both diagnoses and procedures.  

• Learn this search!
   
• Tip:  The ICD-CM (International Classification of Diseases, Clinical Modification) is used to code and classify both diagnoses and procedures.  Current and previous versions of the ICD-CM are available through the CDC.  

MedlinePlus - Health Topics
Access: Public
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Most health topics will have a link to statistics.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Access: Public
The CDC, in part, identifies and defines preventable health problems in the US.  Its Data and Statistics portal is an excellent resource for information on major medical topics, such as: Autism Spectrum, Cancer, Heart Disease, Diabetes, and Reproductive Health.  

National Center for Healthcare Statistics
Access: Public
A subset of the CDC that also offers national and state-level data and statistics on major medical conditions, including physician office visits and emergency department visits for a given condition; it also offers on health care services, insurance, and expenditures.  

More Statistics
Advocacy groups, e.g. the American Heart Association, may collect and report more specific statistics than the US government.  In Google try a sample search like this:  hearing loss association statistics site:.org

Healthcare:  Facilities and Providers

data.HRSA.gov
Access: Public
The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) is the primary federal agency for improving health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable.  The HRSA Data Portal enables users to select related datasets to create custom data views, and it includes a Health Care Facilities Dataset.**  

• Tools > Data Explorer

**Dataset is powered by the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services' Provider of Services data files, which contain characteristics of hospitals and other types of healthcare facilities, including the name and address of the facility and the type of Medicare services the facility provides, among other information.

California Health and Human Services Agency (CHHS) Open Data Portal
Access: Public
CHHS Coordinates the administration of state and federal programs in California.  Its Open Data Portal offers non-confidential data on these topics:  Healthcare, Demographics, Facilities and Services, Diseases and Conditions, Environment, and Workforce.

MedLinePlus- Directories
Access: Public
Links to directories for health professionals, services and facilities.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Access: Public
US Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system.   The ARHQ Data Resources page as of 2016 includes a Compendium of U.S. Health Systems, as well as the following data:  

• The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States.
• Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is the only national data source measuring how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending.

American Hospital Association (AHA) Hospital Statistics (Print book)
Access: UCI
Current print books are at UCI's Grunigen Medical Library and may be transferred via Interlibrary Loan.  UCI Libraries does not license the AHA electronic database.

AHA Statistics are a comprehensive reference source for analysis and comparison of hospital trends in utilization, personnel and finances in U.S. community hospitals.  Data comes from the AHA Annual Surveys of Hospitals and U.S. Census Bureau population data and includes:  

• Five-year trends for community hospitals, by total U.S., bed size, U.S. Census division, and state.
• Facilities and services by U.S. Census Division and state.  
• Community health indicators by U.S. Census Division and Metropolitan Statistics Area with current Fiscal year hospital data.

Healthcare:  Costs and Expenditures

KFF: Health Costs
Access: Public
The Health Costs portal features the Annual Survey of Employers, which provides a detailed look at trends in employer-sponsored health coverage including premiums, employee contributions, cost-sharing provisions, offer rates, wellness programs, and employer practices.
KFF (formerly known as the Kaiser Family Foundation) is a nonprofit, non-partisan independent public charity, not affiliated with Kaiser Permanente.  

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA): Heath Care Satellite Account
Access: Public
Measures US health care spending by the diseases being treated (for example, cancer or diabetes) instead of by the types of goods and services purchased (such as doctor's office visits or drugs). 

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Access: Public
US Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system.   The ARHQ Data Resources page as of 2016 includes a Compendium of U.S. Health Systems, as well as the following data:  

• The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States.
• Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is the only national data source measuring how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending.

All-Payer Claims Databases
Access: Public
Many US states are establishing databases of health insurance claims information from all health care payers into statewide information repositories.  The databases contain eligibility and claims data (medical, pharmacy and dental) and are used to report cost, use and quality information. The data consist of “service-level” information based on valid claims processed by health payers. Service-level information includes charges and payments, the provider(s) receiving payment, clinical diagnosis and procedure codes, and patient demographics.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS)
Access: Public
Part of the US Federal Dept. of Health and Human Services, includes a large portal of Research, Statistics, Data, and Systems to help researchers and policy makers understand the health care system.  

National Center for Healthcare Statistics (NCHS)
Access: Public
A subset of the CDC that offers national and state-level data and statistics on major medical conditions, including physician office visits and emergency department visits for a given condition; it also offers on health care services, insurance, and expenditures.  

Health Care Cost Institute (HCCI) Annual Reports
Access: Public
An independent non-profit research institute funded in part by health insurance companies.  The freely available Health Care Cost and Utilization Report provides yearly reviews of spending, price and utilization trends for commercially-insured Americans.  (Note: The UCI Libraries does not license any premium datasets from HCCI.)