Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Advanced Research: Datasets

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


Licensed Resources for Creating a Dataset

 

SimplyAnalytics 
Geography: US
Maximum 3 users at once! An easy-to-use interface offering thousands of social and economic data variables that can be used when building custom maps and reports (i.e. spreadsheets).  Register for a free account to save and return to your work. 

 

 

Ad$pender  
Geography: US​
Advertising expenditures and occurrence information for 3+ million brands across 18 media.  View a PDF user manual here

  • Learn this search!
     
  • For help with searching in this database, call the Ad$pender New York office (8am – 8pm Eastern): 1-800-497-8450.  Tell Ad$pender that you are with The University of California, Irvine, and that you would like to get help walking through your query from the beginning.
     

MarketLine Advantage
Geography: Global
Includes premium tools to build reports via the Databases link.  Country Statistics, Financial Deals, Company Prospector, Investment & Advisory Prospector, Company Report Generator, and Market Data Analytics.

 

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) (Current UCI students, faculty, & staff) 
For PhD and faculty-level research.  Important databases in: finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy. Merage users login through Catalyst.


Licensed Resources with Existing Datasets

 

 

OECD iLibrary
Geography: Global
All publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.

 

ICPSR Data Archive
Geography: Global
An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations.  ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.   

 

Global Financial Data
Geography: Global
Current and historic downloadable economic and financial time series for the U.S. and over 150 foreign countries.

  • After creating an account, make sure to CLICK the Login button (do not use an Enter/Return key) to get into the database.

 

World Development Indicators (WDI)
Comprehensive development data covering 700+ indicators, with time series for 208 countries.  Data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for 40+ years.

 

iPoll Databank
A comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. The iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present.  In some cases, microdata poll results are available for download. 

 

Nielsen Datasets  (Current UCI students, faculty, & staff)
Geography: US
For PhD students and Tenure Track Faculty only!  The UCI Libraries' subscription includes the Consumer Panel dataset and the Retail Scanner dataset.  Data is from a partnership between Nielsen and the Kilts Center for Marketing at the Chicago Booth School of Business.

 

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) (Current UCI students, faculty, & staff) 
For PhD and faculty-level research.  Important databases in: finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy. Merage users login through Catalyst.

 


Other Online Resources with Social Science Datasets

 

IPUMS
Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context.  From the University of Minnesota. 

 

Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.

 

data.world
A Public Benefit Corporation that provides a social media platform for people to share openly accessible datasets.

 

re3data.org
The Registry of Research Data Repositories.  Identifies and lists 1,500+ research data repositories, making it the largest and most comprehensive registry of data repositories available on the web.

 

Academic Torrents
A community-maintained distributed repository for datasets and scientific knowledge.  The service is designed to facilitate storage of all the data used in research, including datasets as well as publications.

 

Data.gov
Datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government.  The catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added.

 

Kaggle
A Google subsidiary company, which (in part) offers open datasets on everything from government, health, and science to popular games and dating trends.

 

SNAP
The SNAP library is being actively developed since 2004 and is organically growing as a result of Stanford University's research pursuits in analysis of large social and information networks.

 

Billion Prices Project
An academic initiative that uses prices collected from hundreds of online retailers around the world on a daily basis to conduct research in macro and international economics.

 

Pew Internet Data Sets
Raw survey data sets from the Pew Project, which produces reports exploring the impact of the internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.

 

Kauffman Index
Measures of the people and businesses that contribute to America’s overall economic dynamism.  The series consists of data, reports, and accompanying interactive data visualizations presenting entrepreneurial trends nationally, at the state level, and for the 40 largest metropolitan areas. 

 

Yahoo! Labs- Webscope
A reference library of datasets for non-commercial use by academics and other scientists, categorized into Ratings, Language, Graph, Advertising and Market Data, Computing Systems and an appendix of other relevant data and resources available via the Yahoo! Developer Network.

 

DocNow
Documenting the Now, a collaborative effort among multiple universities, is building a variety of tools to help researchers work with Twitter data.  Twitter's terms of service don't allow tweet datasets to be published on the web, but they do allow tweet identifier datasets to be shared.   DocNow maintains a catalog of Twitter datasets that are publicly available on the web.

Loading ...

Connect

How To Connect:

Electronic & Print Content