Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Career Exploration
-- Career Resources, Lists of Companies, and eBooks

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/business

Tip

How do I find career opportunities?

  1. If you are a UCI student: check with staff at your School, visit the UCI Division of Career Pathways, and join The Anteater Network.  
  2. The UCI Libraries subscribe to two databases that point to companies' career opportunities:  Vault and UniWorld.   
  3. Explore online recruitment sites such as: LinkedIn, Indeed, Monster, CareerBuilder, etc.
  4. Search for professional associations for your target industry because they might have a job board (e.g. the American Library Association's JobLIST).  Associations often discount membership fees for students, so consider joining before you graduate!
  5. Investigate a company directly.  To identify companies, visit Make A List of Companies or Get Popular Lists of Companies.  


Career Information Resources

 

Vault
Geography: US

Intelligence on what it’s really like to work within an industry, company, or profession.  Detailed information on nearly 5,000 companies in more than 120 industries. Extensive information on more than 840 professions, including education requirements, skill requirements, salaries, advancement prospects, and more.  Search for current job openings, and find essential advice on resumes, interviews, networking, and more.

  • UCI alumni may access Vault!  First, check with your appropriate career office about access through their portal.  If you need additional access help, contact Vault staff at vaultcampus@vault.com.  

 

Business Source Complete
Geography: Global
A massive database covering virtually all business subjects. Thousands of entries for both scholarly and trade business publications. 

 

BLS: Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.  The BLS OOH has career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

 

Career OneStop
From the U.S. Department of Labor.  Learn about careers, find career information, and locate career resources and advice.

 


Make A List of Companies

 

Tip

To make a list of companies in an industry, you'll typically need an industry code.  These are often NAICS codes. 

Find and learn about NAICS codes.

 

Mergent Intellect
Geography: Global
Public and private company information (as available) for companies worldwide.  Advanced Search allows for creating a custom Excel spreadsheet of companies based on criteria like industry, location, size, etc. Mergent Intellect replaces Hoovers Pro.  Data for both Mergent & Hoovers comes from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B).

 

Uniworld
Geography: Global
A global directory in which every company within the database has at least one foreign subsidiary.  Finds both US firms operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the US.  Searchable on criteria including: industry, employee count, and revenue.  Uniworld also features a "career postings" search option, which is a yes/no indicator that the company has a link on its own website for its own career opportunities.   

 

S&P Capital IQ  *(Current UCI students, faculty, & staff)
Geography: Global
A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide.

  • Screening [tab] >> Companies >> Select or Search for Criteria.  
    Under the top Help menu, you'll find a phone number, and a representative (available 24/7) can walk you through screening for a list of companies.  

 

GuideStar *New!*
GuideStar specializes in nonprofit company intelligence.  Its covers 2.7 million nonprofits and it features: Current financial data, IRS forms, and visualizations of financial trends for nonprofits.  A directory to search for nonprofits by size, cause, and location.  A directory to search for people in leadership roles at nonprofits.


Get Popular Lists* of Companies

 

Orange County Business Journal: Book of Lists
The Book of Lists supplement issue is simply a compilation of all lists published by OCBJ during the previous year. 

 

Business Source Complete
Geography: Global
This database includes Fortune Magazine.  This custom url finds the issues with Largest U.S. Corporations in the title, i.e. what Fortune officially calls its Fortune 500 list. 

  • Select PDF Full Text to explore inside the magazine.  Fortune magazine also breaks down the 500 by industry and by state. 

 

S&P Capital IQ  *(Current UCI students, faculty, & staff)
Geography: Global
A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial, executive, and activity information on millions of companies worldwide. 

  • Look up the name of an index, e.g. the Dow Jones Industrial Average, S&P 500, etc. to see and export the current (not historic) list of constituent companies. 
    Learn this search!
     
  • Use the Markets tab > Industries for lists of the top US public companies, including ratio data, across these sectors:
    Analysis, Energy, Materials, Industrials, Consumer Discretionary, Consumer Staples, Health Care, Financials, IT, Communication Services, Utilities, and Real Estate
     
  • The Idea Generation Screens feature premade filters for 200+ company characteristics.  
    Learn this search!

 

Accounting Today 
Located within the Business Source Complete database, it produces an annual spreadsheet of the Top 100 Firms, with basic data on Revenue, Personnel, and Fee Splits. 

 

 

*There are dozens of company lists, produced by many different entities.
This page only points to a select few of the most requested/relevant lists for the UCI community.
The INSEAD Libraries has an excellent compilation of many additional lists.


 
Career eBooks

 

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
The five-volume encyclopedia for career exploration and planning.  Each article offers detailed career information, sidebars, and features, including a new Career Ladder, which shows common career paths for each profession, and new sections, such as Unions and Associations and Tips for Entry.  Copyright 2015.

 

A Day in a Working Life: 300 Trades and Professions through History
Essays on 300+ occupations as they were practiced in 21 historical time periods, ranging from prehistory to the present day, written to inform readers about career choices in different times and cultures.  Each is accompanied by a bibliography of additional sources of information, sidebars that relate historical issues to present-day concerns, and related historical documents. Copyright 2015.

 

Careers without Borders: Critical Perspectives
Analyzes the challenges, debates and developments in global careers using a critical management perspective.  This book aims to help students and managers understand the career issues involved when they do business in other countries. Copyright 2013. 

 

Careers and Cultures
Explores what a career for individuals is in different countries, cultures, professions and age groups. What does career success mean for people around the world? What are key career transitions, and how are they best managed in different cultures? Copyright 2012.

 

Careers around the world: individual and contextual perspectives (eBook)
Develop new understandings of career from the vantage point of those who live in diverse cultures, and who belong to different generations. Explores the meaning of what a career for individuals is in different countries, cultures, professions and age groups. Copyright 2012.  

Loading ...

Connect

How To Connect:

Electronic & Print Resources