Bibliographies & encyclopedia entries are excellent starting points to (a) generate ideas and (b) find further scholarship in a particular area. Below are just a few resources to get you started from Oxford Bibliographies, which provides readers with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, these easy to understand articles are authoritative guides to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.
In addition to Library Search and Melvyl, try searching on:
Below are a few books listed to get you inspired, but please use the search tools listed above to help you find more materials on your topic. Having trouble finding resources? Meet with me for help!
Raja Deen Dayal : artist-photographer in 19th-century India by 
Re-visioning the past : early photography in Bengal 1875-1915 by Try searching these various library databases to find scholarship in the area you are interested in. For assistance narrowing down and finding relevant articles to topic, you are welcome to make an appointment with the Visual Arts Librarian. Use the "Schedule Appointment" on the home page of this Research Guide.
Alkazi Foundation for the Arts (AFA)
The Alkazi Foundation for the Arts (AFA) is a Registered Charitable Trust in New Delhi (India), dedicated to the preservation and study of the cultural history of India. Ebrahim Alkazi, the Foundation’s Chairman and Director, has amassed a private collection of 19th- century photographs known as The Alkazi Collection of Photography (ACP). The Alkazi Collection of Photography is housed in the AFA, which carries out research on this extensive holding in preparation for a continuing series of scholarly publications and exhibitions.
The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users. Site includes an "Images" page with various photograph collections online.
Keyword and subject searching methods are two widely used ways to effectively find books. There are important advantages to both methods; knowing how to use them and how they differ from each other will help you retrieve better, more accurate results.
What is keyword searching?
Example: photographer keyword ~ Raja Deen Dayal
What is subject searching?
Example: photographer as a subject heading ~ Deen Dayal, Raja, 1844-1905
Photography (Technical)
Albumen prints -- Afghanistan -- 19th century
Collodian Process
Photography & South Asia (History, Criticism)
Photography -- India -- History -- 19th century
Photography -- India -- History -- 20th century
Photography -- India -- History -- 19th century -- Exhibitions
Photography -- India -- History -- 20th century -- Exhibitions
Portrait photography -- India
Portrait photography -- India -- History -- 20th century
Photography in ethnology -- India -- History
Photography in ethnology -- Great Britain -- History -- 19th century
Photography -- India -- Psychological aspects
Photograph collections -- 19th century -- Sri Lanka -- Exhibitions
Photography -- Sri Lanka -- History -- 19th century -- Exhibitions
Art and society -- India -- History
Photographers (Indian)
Deen Dayal, Raja, 1844-1905
Photographers -- India -- Exhibitions
