Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Art History: Historical Newspapers and Magazines


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/arthistory

Historical Periodicals & Newspapers

This page lists some helpful library databases as well as free online resources for historical research when looking for newspapers and magazine articles. It includes: international newspapers and titles, California and USA newspapers, and a few recommended databases for historical magazines. If you are seeking a more exhaustive list of newspaper databases at UCI Libraries, please consult the Newspaper Research Guide.

Resource Highlight:

Art & Architecture Archive (1860-2015)

  • UCI Libraries purchased the Art + Photography module.
  • A collection of digitized back-files of popular art magazines of the 20th century.
  • This provides digital access to 22 titles. Title examples include: American Craft, Aperture, Appollo, Art and AsiaPacific, C: A Critical Visual Art Magazine, Ceramics Technical, Goya, International Sculpture, Popular Photography, WomanCraft, Women Artists Slide Library Newsletter, and more.
  • Each issue is scanned  in high resolution color with fully searchable text.

International Newspapers: Databases

California & United States Newspapers: Databases

Databases for Historical Periodicals/Magazines

Connecting to Library Resources

  • The Lock Icon icon means this resource is paid for by the libraries and requires UCI authentication. 
  • For help with VPN & connecting off-campus visit https://www.lib.uci.edu/connect.