Try searching within these art specific databases when looking for: scholarly literature, art magazine articles, exhibition reviews, conference proceedings, books & book reviews, and more.
Art & Architecture Source
- Scholarship from: 1929-Present
- An excellent starting point for visual art research - covers all periods and media including fine, decorative and commercial art as well as architecture and architectural design.
- +770 full-text journals, +480 peer-reviewed full-text journals.
- Languages other than English include: French, Italian, German, Spanish, Dutch.
- Scholarship from: 1960s-Present
- An excellent resource for modern & contemporary arts, dating back from the late 19th century onward. Covers traditional media (illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, drawing) as well as performance art, installation works, video art, computer/electronic art, graffiti, artists’ books, conservation, ceramics, museum design, fashion, among other areas. You'll find research articles, exhibition reviews, books and reviews, exhibition catalog entries, essays, conference proceedings, etc. Languages other than English include: German, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
- Scholarship from: 1975-2007
- Accessed through the Getty Research Institute, BHA covers European and American art from late antiquity through to contemporary art until 2009.
- This resource also combines the now defunct databases RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art). It is a citation database, so you'll find indexes and abstracts of articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer’s catalogs.
International Bibliography of Art
- Scholarship from 2008-Present
- Successor database to the Bibliography of the History of Art. It is the core bibliography for recent publications (post-2008) in the history of Western Art from antiquity to the present and Global Art since 1945.Visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installation, new media, decorative, applied arts, museum studies, material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history. Coverage of: monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogues.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- Scholarship: 1930s-Present
- Managed through Columbia University, this database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published globally on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Updated daily!
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals
- Ranges from 1842-1907
- Indexes 42 art journals published in the U.S. in the 19th century.
- Describes the entire journal contents, including articles, poems, illustrations, and advertisements.
- Subjects include popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration, and collecting.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- Scholarship from 1975-Present
- Part of the Web of Science database, covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
You can access electronic resources off campus through the UCI Virtual Private Network (VPN): use either Software VPN (recommended) or Web VPN.