Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Art History: Home


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/art

Welcome to the Art Research Guide!

Welcome! This guide was designed to point you to databases for art & art history, journals/visual culture magazines, image collections, and other resources make your research exploration more streamlined! As your art librarian, I am here to provide research support and any questions you may have about navigating & using the library's endless resources! Don't forget check out these new resources!  New to art research? Start here:

BACKGROUND INFORMATION | Oxford Art Online Lock Icon
Comprehensive overviews of art periods/movements, terminology, and artist biographies with detailed bibliographies

BIBLIOGRAPHIES | Oxford Bibliographies: Art History Lock Icon
Continually updated list of bibliographies compiled by leading scholars on all aspects of art history.

ARTICLES | Art & Architecture Source Lock Icon
A starting point for art research when looking for scholarly articles, exhibition reviews, artist interviews, etc.

IMAGES | Artstor Digital Library Lock Icon
A digital library of images licensed for educational use covering visual art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.

VIDEO ART | Electronic Arts Intermix Lock Icon
An international resource for video and media art.

NEW RESOURCES & UPDATES

Art History eBooks: 
Art & Architecture e-Portal (Yale University Press)

  • A collection of eBooks that feature important works of scholarship in art/art history
  • 200 eBooks available + growing
  • Many we own in print, but now you can access these remotely!
  • Access: https://www.aaeportal.com/home or via Library Search 

Digitized Art Journals/Magazines: 
Art & Architecture Archive (ProQuest)

  • A collection of digitized back-files of popular art magazines of the 20th century
  • UCI Libraries purchased the Art + Photography module 
  • This provides digital access to 22 titles! See them here.
  • Each issue is scanned from cover to cover in high resolution color 
  • Fully searchable text
  • Access the collection here

Art & Visual Studies Subject Guide

Jenna Dufour's picture
Jenna Dufour
Contact:
949.824/6672