Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

UPPP 5 - Introduction to Planning & Policy - Winter 2023: Home


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/UPPP5_Intro_to_Planning_Policy_Winter2023

Introduction

This introductory course to Urban and Regional Planning identifies the social and environmental sequences and policy issues in the US and internationally.  and what constitutes the foundation of the field and defines globalization.   It covers governance at all levels including international, federal, state and local that inform development and urban studies.  It will expose students to the various stakeholders and allow for how policy analysis and assessment of public policy is shaped by political and media influences.  Course assignments will introduce students to the core literature and resources that cover the issues and needs to successfully complete the course. 

Ask a Librarian

For Chat, Text, eMail and to schedule a Research Consultation with a Librarian, use:

Ask A Librarian 

Hints for Policy paper

Think of your topic carefully.  Make sure that it resonates within your syllabus, but has a different spin and that the proposal is a guideline you follow for the paper.  You will need to have 3 different sources that reflect:

  • a peer-reviewed scholarly article
  • a book
  • a reputable national newspaper

The following structure may be helpful.

  1. the policy should inform any of these topics:  housing, transportation, environment.
  2. write from an outline with the headers noted on p. 12 of your syllabus
  3. compose your introduction after you write your paper so you don't promise something you have not delivered
  4. identify the stakeholders affected by this issue and the geography you are focusing on
  5. what different sectors are addressing this issue (public, private, non-profit)
  6. offer examples of how a government body (federal, state, local) is addressing issue
  7. provide a domestic AND international alternative resolution or alternative to your chosen issue

Finding Books - Use Library Search

Library Search is the Library Catalog, for UCI and all 9 other UC campuses, where you can identify books and eBooks, journal articles, newspaper articles, videos, etc..  Enter your search term in the big box (Search Anything) and then refine search using the left sidebar. including .  On the left sidebar restrict to books (online or in print - you can borrow for 5 weeks) and then determine if you want the most current or relevant based on your search strategy. You can restrict to to peer-reviewed journal content; online resources.  If you select the Advanced Search option, you can then restrict to the UCI catalog and search by title, author or keyword and restrict format to book, journal, article, video, etc.

 

Finding Newspapers

There are separate databases that highlight major newspaper coverage.  Be careful about the time periods covered and what newspapers are included.  Students can subscribe free with a UCI NetID to the New York Times (NYT) and the Wall Street Journal (WSJ) and can read on all devices that are registered.  Enjoy access to NYT by following these directions and for the WSJ, these directions. 

Other databases that can be searched by topic and will retrieve major newspaper coverage are:

 

Finding Government Information

Finding information produced by the US Government is complex.  There are different finding tools and databases.  Using the US Government Information Research Guide will get you started.  For California government information, many analogous agencies and departments produce information.  For International coverage, additional sources to Global Information in Context,  PAIS International and Academic Search Complete include OECD iLibrary and CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online.

Recommended Resources

There are many resources that cover the different threads and topics that will be covered each week.  Your syllabus has many Web Resources and you will want to explore the bibliographic sources that follow that will allow you to search specific concepts and retrieve journal articles, news & media coverage for your policy paper.  Visit the UPPP Research Guide for additional resources.

The general themes of:

  • Housing
  • Transportation
  • Environment

are covered by most of these databases.  Some are specialized and some are very multidisciplinary. 

Consider writing from an outline that will cover:

  • policy topic
  • specific policy
  • stakeholders affected by this policy issue
  • different sectors with an interest in this policy - public, private and nonprofit
  • US and international alternatives
  • include 3 peer-reviewed journal articles, newspaper content, data

Citing using APA Style

Your paper should be composed and submitted using the APA Style Guide.  The following resources are helpful in that process and give you some sample references.  Additional help is available here.

The following are mostly made up examples. The definitive resource for this information is APA's latest Publication Manual, which in available at Langson Library Reference (currently on reserve under call number  BF76.7 .P83 2020 at the loan desk).

Journal reference in a reference list

Rosenvinge, J.-H., Skårderud, F., & Thune-Larsen, K. (2003). Can educational programmes raise clinical competence in treating eating disorders?  Results from a Norwegian trial. European Eating Disorders Review, 11, 329-343. doi:10.1002/erv.503

Notes: The above should be a hanging indent and double spaced. J.-H. is a hyphenated first name. The issue number is not present because this journal title is continuously paginated. The doi or digitial object identifier indicates retrieval from an online resource. Doi numbers are available in PsycINFO and/or on the article itself. If there is no doi and the article was read in a pdf document, I recommend citing it as a print reference. This is not in strict accordance with APA's Publication Manual, but the difficulty of finding a doi or of finding a publisher website makes this advisable. Can't find a doi? Locate an available doi here!

Journal reference in text

Example 1

(Rosenvinge, Skårderud & Thune-Larsen, 2003) for the first time the reference is cited. Afterwards, use (Rosenvinge et al., 2003). If citing the same article in the same paragraph, use only Resenvinge et al without the year. 

Notes: Cite up to five authors for the first time referenced in text. If there are six or more authors, use the first author's last name followed by et al and continue to do so throughout the text. Within the text of a paper, you may either use the author's name followed by a comma with the date of the publication, or you may use the author's name outside the comma with the date in parenthesis immediately following the author's name.

Example 2

(Smith & Jones, 2009) OR Smith and Jones (2009)

Notes: Use "and" when you use the authors names in a sentence and "&" when you place it in parenthesis.

Book chapter in a reference list

Vugt, M. van & Park, J. H. (2010). The tribal instinct hypothesis : evolution and the social psychology of intergroup relations. In Stürmer, S & Mark Snyder (Eds.), The psychology of prosocial behavior: Group processes, intergroup relations, and helping (pp. 6-20). Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell.

Notes: The above should be a hanging indent and double spaced. Remember that author names are capitalized according to the country of origin (see the biographical section of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary in Langson Library Reference at PE1628 .M36 2003).

Book chapter in text

(Vugt & Park, 2010)

Notes: If you are quoting or refering to a single page, the in text citation might be (Vugt & Park, 2010, p. 7). If citing a particular chapter, (Vugt & Park, 2010, chap. 2). If citing a set of pages, use (Vugt & Park, 2010, pp. 7-10).

Library is Open for eAccess

Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Library Tutorials - Searching Google Scholar

Three short videos on how to efficiently & effectively search Google Scholar:

Video 1: Settings to get the most out of Google Scholar (1:00)

Video 2: Basic Searching in Google Scholar  (1:30)

Video 3: Advanced Searching in Google Scholar (1:30)

Library Hours

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Follow these directions to access our licensed databases and resources from off-campus. Please contact OIT if you need assistance at 949-824-2222.

 

 

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check UC Library Search before requesting an ILL and make all requests there. If UCI has the eBook and you prefer reading the print, please request it here  For requests outside of the UC use the WorldCat Worldwide search incorporated in UC Library Search.  For additional information contact libill@uci.edu

Business Sources