Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

SE 10 - Research Design - Summer Session 1, 2020 - Prof. Basolo: Home


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/SE10/Summer2020

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.  Download the VPN software on all your electronic devices that you use to access information from off-campus or to search Google Scholar anywhere.  For additional information, contact OIT at 949-824-2222 - open 24/7

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

Ask A Librarian

 

Ask A Librarian

 

In addition to contacting the Subject or Liaison Librarian, use this link to get immediate assistance by coming to or phoning a Reference Desk, using eMail, CHAT or TEXT, or to set up a Research Consultation.

Background

SE 10 - Summer Session I, 2020

This course guide introduces library resources and services and will help you to complete your assignments. You should be able to translate this research process to other assignments you complete for Social Ecology and other research-based courses. 

Access to the Library during the campus closure due to COVID-19 forces use of its digital collections.  You will be conducting your classes online as well as your research.  The following textbooks are available online:

USING THE UCI LIBRARIES

In order to work efficiently in the Libraries, you may want to:

  • make sure that you have VPN functioning to access licensed library content
  • read the assignments and all accompanying material carefully (Literature Review Tips) and follow instructions
  • leave sufficient time for consultation with a librarian or TA if needed and for revision
  • utilize eMail so that you can send results from conducting literature searches in different databases and file in eMail folders for future reference
  • consider learning how to use a form of Bibliographic Management Software to organize your results from searching databases or collecting citations. You may want to consult a Subject Guide for additional help and access to tutorials
  • Learn how to use Library Search and MELVYL - in order to access holdings so that you can find the full-text - sometimes it will be available online
  • ILL will only be for digital content that we don't have and should be accessed via MELVYL's Request function or submitting this form
  • develop access to library resources from off-campus - see the box on the left for your options
  • define your subtopic so that you can conduct your literature search - consider some synonyms that describe topic or major themes
  • look specifically for empirical articles - if you search PsycINFO you can restrict your search to contain empirical data by scrolling down and restricting the "Methodology" to "Empirical Study" - it may be helpful to consult and use the Thesaurus and also restrict the coverage of the your search since this database goes back to 1806 and you most likely will not need to conduct such a retrospective literature search.  The Search Tips are a good orientation to how to use the database to its best utility.

UCI Writing Center

The UCI Writing Center is open remotely.  There are no peer tutors over the summer however there are writing specialists available by appointment or drop-in.  Please avail yourself to these services if needed.

Library is Open for eAccess

Librarian for PPD & SE

Julia Gelfand, PPD/SE Librarian

Office: Science Library (SL) 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

eMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

 

 

Librarian for Psychological Sciences

Nicole Carpenter, Psychological Sciences Librarian

Office: Langson Library (LL) 472

Phone: (949) 824-3275

eMail: ncarp@uci.edu

 

Librarian for CLS

Brian Williams, CLS Librarian

Contact Info:

Office:  Langson Library (LL) 106

Phone: 949-824-0473

eMail: brian.williams@uci.edu

Library Hours

Please check on the website for Library hours

During the academic summer session all libraries will be open Monday-Thursday from 8am-8pm

Friday from 8am-5pm

Saturday from 1-5pm

Sunday - 1-5pm

All libraries will be closed on Thursday, July 3 for Independence Day, but will reopen on Friday.

Gateway Commons is open Monday-Thursday from 6-10pm, Friday -Sunday from 5-9pm

Please use the Campus Safety Escorts when leaving the Libraries alone after dark by calling 949-824-7233