Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome & Introduction
Welcome to the third cohort of this new degree program and to UCI. These are very unusual times as we return to a campus that has been basically shuttered for 19 months. We are happy to welcome you in person and we look forward to working with you individually and in project or study groups.This handout should be a point of departure for your academic and information needs while enrolled in this degree program and will serve as an introduction to resources that you may rely upon as you begin your career. There are many library resources and services for which you can avail yourselves. Please spend some time navigating through the tabs and boxes and open up the links so you see the variety of resources. There are also some hints to follow in finding specific information and to create certain outcomes and functions. The academic quarter goes very quickly so please do not hesitate to contact us, even for directional assistance about how to find something - that is the way to learn how to process everything. As you begin to plan your capstone project we hope that you will share your plans with us. Please let us know if you have any questions or need anything. We look forward to meeting you and working with you, and want you to each be successful at UCI and beyond. As things change we will be updating this guide.
Innovation & Entrepreneurship Librarian
On the Horizon - later this quarter, this year...
Add these items to your calendar:
Escape from Academics
Even though you may not be on campus or in Irvine, and these are the strangest of times, we hope that you will use library resources to escape from studying in your field and seek out recreational reading or videos where you can find both fiction and nonfiction, variety of classic films, documentaries and new releases. These can be found among the following online resources:
These are just a few of the databases that cover engineering and related content. Some have fulltext links included, others link to content via our holdings. Other research guides contain many more specialized resources. Engineering literature is released by commercial publishers, professional engineering societies and government agencies and entities. Some databases index journal articles, conference proceedings, eBooks, and standards, and include full archives of all output released by the society.
At Science Library MRC you can reserve this room to rehearse your presentations by taping yourself or your group and then reviewing the recording so you can see how audience will perceive your delivery.
Poster Printing at the Science Library
For $50/per poster it is printed on 36" x 42" on enhanced matte paper within 2 days. There are other local reprographic options.
Searching the Library's Catalogs & Resources
Start at the Library Website and then search:
- UC Library Search - integrated library discovery that searches for all materials in collections across all 10 UC campuses, allows for ILL and other actions
- UC eScholarship - the Digital Repository for the University of California reflecting research & scholarship conducted at each of the 10 UC campuses.
- Dryad - An open-access data repository where you can upload your research data to make it both discoverable and easily citable. Contact Digital Scholarship Services for more information.
Things To Do & Things To Know
Keep UCI Libraries Informed of Your Current Contact Information
Make sure that the UCI Libraries have current contact information for you so that we can inform you about any of your library transactions or information needs. Email firstname.lastname@example.org or text 949-303-7535
Connect from Off-Campus - VPN, & OIT HelpDesk
Configure up to 5 devices including cell phone, tablet, laptop, desktop so that you can access licensed content when off-campus. Test VPN regularly and follow instructions to install. Make sure you have a way to access DUO as many resources require it. Contact OIT at 949-824-2222 for any assistance - open 24/7 or contact Help Desk at https://www.oit.uci.edu/helpdesk
Install DUO - Multifactor Authentication Requirement
Follow instructions to install on your cell phone so you can access the tools & resources that require it.
UCI Library Website
Point of departure for all library announcements, exhibits, services, and links to staff and resources. Feel free to use this source for Virtual Tours (https://www.lib.uci.edu/visit-libraries) or various Subject Guides (https://guides.lib.uci.edu/soceco_ppd).
My Library Account
To manage your personal library transactions.
Learn how to use self-checkout and other borrowing functions.
For resources that are not available at UCI, please check UC Library Search, click on the "External" link on Left Side Bar and find what you need to borrow from Worldcat and submit ILL requests within that framework. Outside of a textbook for a course, please contact us before you purchase anything in order to determine if we can obtain it for you. For more information consult this notice https://www.lib.uci.edu/interlibrary-loan
Copying & Printing
There are no cash transactions for copying - you can pay with credit/debit cards or deposit funds with Venmo, PayPal or ApplePay and Print on the go by downloading the Wepa Print App, available from the App Store or Google pay. UCI Photo-ID for copying/xeroxing and printing at any of the UCI Libraries - Costs noted here (www.lib.uci.edu/printing-copying-scanning).
Bibliographic Management Software
Consider adopting & learning some method of BMS to use for organizing information retrieved from literature searches, to take notes. Use the Comparison chart, take a tutorial & determine if it fits in to your workstyle. Will format outputs according to different style manuals. There is definitely a learning curve so allow time. The free or open source products are Mendeley, Zotero & EndNote Basic. In addition you may want to consider ReadCube/Papers which has a modest student fee (https://support.papersapp.com/support/solutions/30000035227)
Overleaf - Collaborative Software
A collaborative, cloud-based LaTeX editor for the writing, editing, compiling and publishing of scientific documents. Integrated directly with Bibliographic Management Software packages. Requires registration and can be used with collaborators at other institutions.
IEEE platform that is free for sign-up. Think of it as LinkedIn for Engineers. Very international in scope. Active discussion for authors.
MRC (Media Resource Center)
Includes Film/CD Collection, Makerspace/3D Printing, AV/computer equipment; Software; One Button/Presentation Studio, & other services/resources.
UCI Libraries Presentation Studio
Located at MRC 168 at the Science Library, this room can be reserved to rehearse and perfect the delivery of presentations. Can record and replay presentations. Can accommodate 10 persons, set up theatre style.
DSS Programming Workshops
Learn about courses to master R, Python, Unix, GitHub, OpenRefine - they fill up fast so register early! There is a special workshop for Social Sciences and Geospatial workshops. .
Subscriptions to Free Online National Newspapers
The UCI Libraries provides access to UCI affiliates to the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times & Orange County Register for these papers on your preferred device from the attached tabs.
Research Grant Resources
If you need to apply for special funding for conference attendance, applying for a research grant this guide will offer many resources.
Stay in tune with the program announcements.
Enjoy a film or other Streaming Media
Watch a film, documentary, play a game or enjoy other streaming media
Check out the Overdrive tab for fiction & non-fiction. Also visit the Langson Library New Book Lobby for recent releases of fiction & non-fiction in print.
Take a break from studying, come to the library and play a game or check one out.
LastPass Password Manager
Recommended to secure stored passwords across your devices. UCI also has an Enterprise* account, which includes 1GB of encrypted file storage at no cost (*note that access ends one year after graduation, so back up your data if you decide to utilize the LastPass Enterprise account!)
Register for this unique & persistent digital identifier to disambiguate you from other authors with the same name. Stays with you as you move on from UCI. Is used to track your publishing output. Increasingly added to all signature lines & placed on resumes/CVs,
Serving as a TA
As a TA serve as intermediary between faculty and librarian by syllabus, assignments, seek contributions to support class to promote information literacy to email@example.com.
Graduate & Post-Doctoral Resource Center
Variety of services to enhance graduate student & research/writing experience.
Consider joining professional societies
It demonstrates commitment to your professional goals to identify with the professional society that best meets your current interests. Registering as a student offers cost savings. Once you graduate such membership bridges you to retaining access to publications issued by the society.
As a safe alternative to walking alone at night, the CSO Safety Escort program is a 24-hour complimentary service for members of the UCI community.
UCI Campus Safety Escort
(949) 824-7233 (SAFE)
UCI Health Safety Escort at UCIMC
Related Subject Guides
There are subject specific Library Guides for each department in the Samueli School of Engineering and many others that will be useful for you. Each guide offers links to the core literature for books, journals, conference papers, technical literature, preprints, government information and data management. For information you don't find, please contact us. The entire list of all Guides prepared by UCI librarians is found here and recommended ones that may be particularly useful follow:
Additional Resources & Guides
Software Available at UCI
The UCI Office of Information Technology (OIT) offers and supports the following software packages that students can download for free on your personal devices.