Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Graduate Student Orientation to ICS - 2018-2019: Background Information & How to Find Books


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/GradOrient_ICS_2016_17

Quick Links

The UCI Library Website is your point of departure as you seek information.

Connecting from Off-Campus

In order to access licensed content and resources, you will either have to use a computer connected to the UCI network which includes access from all campus buildings and residence communities.  If you are away from the campus, you must be recognized and authenticated and you can do this by installing the VPN client or using Web VPN.

If you need additional assistance to install this, please consult with OIT at 949-824-2222 open 24/7

Borrowing from the Library

BORROWING PRIVILEGES

  • As graduate students you have 90 days or a full academic quarter when borrowing books. 
  • Self-checkout is available at all libraries. 
  • Your UCI ID also grants borrowing in person  from other UC campuses assuming you comply with returning materials.  
  • You can request materials to be delivered to your office via Document Delivery Service (DDS) if someone is available to sign for receiving them by registering on Library Search.
  • Proxy cards are available if you are doing work for a professor and can be requested at the Library Loan Desks - both parties must sign for them.  Grants longer loan periods.
  • Library has ability to impose fines for lost or late returns and restrict registration or graduation until fees are paid.  Overdue fees have increased & will be enforced.
  • Use MY LIBRARY ACCOUNT to track all your transactions.  Renewals can be made online.

Background Information & How to Find Books

There are many resources at the UCI Libraries devoted to the study of computer science.  The collection is relatively young at less than 50 years coinciding with the birth of the discipline about then and the UCI collection is focused on the general materials, and the specific research interests and coursework that is offered at the present on campus.  It is anticipated that the collection will grow rapidly in parallel as the program expands its emphases and more faculty and students join it. A very strong interest in computational biology, genomics, neural & soft computing, fuzzy computing, machine learning & intelligence, software design, algorithms and theory, computer graphics, signal transduction, human computer interaction, image processing, embedded systems, pervasive computing, ubiquitous computing, real-time systems, computer networks, communication systems, medical & biomedical informatics, computerization in organizations, visualization, scientific computing, datasets, etc.
 
Some of the current special interests reflect strong interdisciplinary interests and compliment the programs of the Bren School of Information & Computer Sciences and include: relationships and support to other units in Samueli School of Engineering, School of Biological Sciences, School of Medicine, etc.
 
Library of Congress Subject Headings – the authority that offers the structured vocabulary for relevant output for searching Library Search & Melvyl by Subject Headings.  Keyword searching may retrieve more output but may not be as relevant.  Keyword also searches the author, title, source fields and elements in an abstract when searching in a database, as well as the Subject Headings.
 
Most books about computer science related topics will be found at the Science Library (SL) in the call number ranges:
QA 76
TK 7886
and at the Langson Library (LL) in HD 9696 for materials on computing industry, and in organizations.  Remember that computer science is an applied subject that finds itself in nearly all aspects of daily life today in theory, applications, processing, etc so there may be a subheading of Information Technology or Automation corresponding to many primary subject areas.
 
There are several methods to use to find resources:

  Finding Books and eBooks

FINDING BOOKS and EBOOKS: You will search in Library Holdings Catalogs such as the following Online Public Access Catalogs (opacs) and by collections, and by individual titles or authors to locate specific books.  Some collections are publisher specific.  

  • Library of Congress Subject Headings – the authority that offers the structured vocabulary for relevant output for searching Library Search & Melvyl by Subject Headings. Keyword searching may retrieve more output but may not be as relevant. Keyword also searches the author, title, source fields and elements in an abstract when searching in a database, as well as the Subject Headings.  One easy way to establish the Subject Headings is to search Library Search by Subject (use pull-down tabs) and then when you find a relevant book, scroll down to the list of subject headings and click on one of them and other books in the collection will be retrieved.  Corresponding classification schemes mapped to call numbers are found in this outline.

E-Books - there are an increasing number of eBooks to which you have access. They are all listed in Library Search and MELVYL and Next Gen MELVYL by individual title and by series. There are many collections of such resources and the collections can be searched collectively

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Ask A Librarian

For Chat, Text, eMail and to schedule a Research Consultation with a Librarian, use:

 

Ask A Librarian