Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Energy Research: Pathfinder for the Advanced Power & Energy Program (APEP): Finding Articles - Using Databases


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/Energy-APEP2020

Browzine

Additional information about BrowZine is available here.

Migration to SciFinder-n beginning June 16, 2020

  • We will have both versions, SciFinder-N and SciFinder Classic. CAS has not yet set a sunset date for old SciFinder.
  • We don’t need to do anything different with our registration links. SciFinder accounts will work with both versions, even though SciFinder-N isn’t mentioned on the actual registration pages at CAS. You will need to transfer the "Keep Me Posted" alerts manually because they will not transfer over automatically.
  • Anyone who has a SciFinder account now can go to scifinder-n.cas.org and login.

Updated: Mitchell Brown (June 9, 2020)   contact at mcbrown@uci.edu

Finding Articles and Databases

There are many, literally hundreds of databases containing journal articles, conference papers, books, book chapters and other information sources.  They can be found in Databases A-Z and on most Subject Guides on tabs titled "Finding Articles/Using Databases" and similar names.

Conference Papers, Proceedings, Abstracts, Posters, Literature

Selective access to full-text content via Library Search, MELVYL, and the indexing tools and databases, see Scopus,  Compendex and Inspec.

Specialized Full-text Resources

Professional Society Databases

Commercial Publishers' Platforms

Many publishers have their own platforms which can be searched for fulltext content and they usually contain all outputs for journals, conference papers/proceedings, books, and whatever else is released.  The UCI Libraries may only access to a  portion of the holdings because we do not have active subscriptions or licenses to everything.  If you are unavailable to access what you need, please contact the Engineering Librarian or submit an InterLibrary Loan request.  These publishers may include:

Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Major Journal Publishers

The UCI collections reflect content from all the global publishers including scholarly & professional societies, commercial publishers & government agencies and NGOs.  They include:

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check UC Library Search before requesting an ILL and make all requests there. If UCI has the eBook and you prefer reading the print, please request it here  For requests outside of the UC use the WorldCat Worldwide search incorporated in UC Library Search.  For additional information contact libill@uci.edu