Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Energy Research: Pathfinder for the Advanced Power & Energy Program (APEP): Finding Articles - Using Databases


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/Energy-APEP2018

InterLibrary Loan

If we do not have the book you need or the UCI copy is not available, initiate a request for the book utilizing MELVYL REQUEST by clicking on the REQUEST icon in MELVYL or clicking through the UC eLink and selecting REQUEST.  This is also possible for journal articles that we do not have.  You can use the forms on the InterLibrary Loan website.  It is not usually possible to borrow eBooks via ILL.  All ILL transactions can be tracked by registering at MY ILL

Using Databases

(Indexing and abstracting services covering journal literature, some conference proceedings and related content) - in many of these databases, links to full-text coverage and library holdings are provided by UC eLinks.  There are four main sources of relevant content: 1) Engineering societies - such as ASME, AIAA, SAE, SPIE, etc; 2) global commercial publishers such as Springer, Elsevier, Wiley, Taylor & Francis, etc and many of them have independent imprints under them; 3) government information from all levels from local, regional, state, federal, international countries & agencies; 4) news & business sources such as the specialized wire services, industrial trends, business coverage & developments, etc.

* refers to resources that are restricted to UCI community

Conference Papers, Proceedings, Abstracts, Posters, Literature

Selective access to full-text content via Library Search, MELVYL, and the indexing tools and databases, see Scopus,  Compendex and Inspec.

Specialized Full-text Resources

Professional Society Databases

Commercial Publishers' Platforms

Many publishers have their own platforms which can be searched for fulltext content and they usually contain all outputs for journals, conference papers/proceedings, books, and whatever else is released.  The UCI Libraries may only access to a  portion of the holdings because we do not have active subscriptions or licenses to everything.  If you are unavailable to access what you need, please contact the Engineering Librarian or submit an InterLibrary Loan request.  These publishers may include:

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Major Journal Publishers

The UCI collections reflect content from all the global publishers including scholarly & professional societies, commercial publishers & government agencies and NGOs.  They include: