This handout is to support students in this class on communication strategies and technical writing for engineers. It is organized to augment your assignments and serve as direction for conducting research for a range of information products and sources, perfecting writing and composition; developing presentation skills, etc. You have several assignments and this guide contains recommendations to several sources relevant to each task.
The COVID-19 crisis has put the physical collections of many research libraries out of reach, including ours. Fortunately, HathiTrust holds digital copies of many of these works. They have created an Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS), which opens up copyrighted material in the HathiTrust Digital Library to member institutions with copies of those items in their physical collections.
Millions of digitized books available through HathiTrust which are also in UC libraries’ collections are now available online to UC students, faculty, and staff. Use your UC credentials to login to the HathiTrust Digital Library, and then check-out in copyright books for online reading access for renewable one-hour loans. You can also still, as before, read and download public domain books at will.
Building Research Skills
The UCI Libraries Homepage is your point of departure and serves as a gateway to all online resources that are used for teaching and research. This website will direct you to information resources and services, specifically, the online databases and will give you access to all that is defined by "Resource Tools" and "Finding eBooks" There are two functions on this screen - to search by eBook provider and by subject matter to introduce you to the major sources of eBooks.
Other ways to determine what you are looking for is to consider the information source. Is it one of the following?
When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - be attentive to domain -may include .com, .edu, .org, .gov, .net
The CRAAP test is a test to check the reliability of sources across academic disciplines. CRAAP is an acronym for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.
Thinking Critically about World Wide Web Resources - https://guides.library.ucla.edu/c.php?g=873736&p=6361131
In addition you may want to consider:
In order to avoid plagiarism and to honor intellectual integrity, make sure that you cite the authority in a bibliographic reference to anything that is not your original writing or creation - that means when you quote a passage, insert a graphic image, figures, or illustration, that you cite the original source. The style manual you choose to follow should document how you cite electronic resources. Examples of resources that support multiple style manuals is noted in the Quick Reference Guide for Writing. Standard formats include the following reference elements:
Standard formats include the following reference elements:
For a Journal article or conference proceeding:
Author(s) - last name, first name, MI, - [include multiple authors if noted] (date), Title of article. Source of Article/Title of Journal. volume #, (issue #): pages. If it is only an electronic publication with no reference to print pages, then you cite the DOI - Digital Object Identifier and the date last visited.
If it is a conference paper, then you cite the Source of the Publication, Title of conference, date and location of meeting.
For books, the format is:
Author, editor of volume or chapter, (imprint date). Title of chapter in Title of Book, edited by editor if different. City of Publication: Publisher, page references. Note if it is an eBook.
For full volume:
Author, (date). Title of Book. City of Publisher, Publisher: pages
IEEE Citation Style - The IEEE Editorial Style Manual (2019) notes the specific ways that references and footnotes are to be handled in submissions to IEEE publications. The IEEE Referencing Guide notes practices and they are different than other styles, so follow this and perhaps these guides from the following university libraries will give more examples: Murdoch University or Purdue University's Owl series for IEEE.
MLA Style Format is documented in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 2009 at any of the UCI Library Reference Desks at REF LIB 2369 G53 2009
APA Style Format - The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed., 2020 is at every Reference Desk - REF BF 76.7 P83 2020. It is NOT currently available online. A cheatsheet with many examples of how to cite different types of sources in many formats can be consulted. Additional recommended resources are noted at this site.
Chicago Style Manual - an online version of the Chicago Style Manual is now available
BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE - allows you to discover, find, manage, recall and apply the citations you retrieve from all formats of work - journal articles, book chapters, edited volumes, standards, specifications, patents, conference papers & proceedings, lectures, etc. Neither Zotero nor EndNote support BibTeX or LaTeX, only the usual wordprocessing languages or Legal Style Manual. For additional information, please visit the Bibliographic Management Software page.
Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases. Instructions on connecting from off-campus should be followed - for additional information, consult with OIT at 949-824-2222
Software VPN - strongly urge you to rely upon this method if you use the same computer all the time - less hiccups and complications
Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.