This handout is to support students in this class on communication strategies and technical writing for engineers. It is organized to augment your assignments and serve as direction for conducting research for a range of information products and sources, perfecting writing and composition; developing presentation skills, etc. You have several assignments and this handout contains recommendations to several sources relevant to each task.
Building Research Skills
The UCI Libraries Homepage is your point of departure and serves as a gateway to all online resources that are used for teaching and research. In late Summer 2009, the new Library website was launched as the campus migrated to a new content management system. This website will direct you to information resources and services, specifically, the online databases and will give you access to all that is defined by "Resource Tools" and "Finding Online Resources" There are two functions on this screen - to BROWSE assuming you know the title; and to SEARCH when you can search by title word or keyword. This new page allows you to search all online resources collectively or by type:
When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - be attentive to domain -may include .com, .edu, .org, .gov, .net
Evaluating Information – Applying the CRAAP Test
For Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose
Goal is to establish relevancy. The evaluation criteria includes these issues:
Scope of coverage
Currency – be able to distinguish currency from timeliness
Relevance – meaningful to what audience; at what level; will you cite it as authoritative?
Authority – stem is author – establishes the source of the information – author/publisher/source/sponsor; organizational affiliations & credentials; contact information
Accuracy – reliability, correctness of content; supported by evidence; is it verifiable; is tone unbiased, objective, impartial & free of emotion; free of errors?
Purpose – are hypotheses and authors’ intentions clear? Why is content important – to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade? Any political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?
Ease of use – Capturing, copying, citing; design & presentation
In order to avoid plagiarism and to honor intellectual integrity, make sure that you cite the authority in a bibliographic reference to anything that is not your original writing or creation - that means when you quote a passage, insert a graphic image, figures, or illustration, that you cite the original source. The style manual you choose to follow should document how you cite electronic resources. Examples of resources that support multiple style manuals is noted in the Quick Reference Guide for Writing. Standard formats include the following reference elements:
Standard formats include the following reference elements:
For a Journal article or conference proceeding:
Author(s) - last name, first name, MI, - [include multiple authors if noted] (date), Title of article. Source of Article/Title of Journal. volume #, (issue #): pages. If it is only an electronic publication with no reference to print pages, then you cite the DOI - Digital Object Identifier and the date last visited.
If it is a conference paper, then you cite the Source of the Publication, Title of conference, date and location of meeting.
For books, the format is:
Author, editor of volume or chapter, (imprint date). Title of chapter in Title of Book, edited by editor if different. City of Publication: Publisher, page references. Note if it is an eBook.
For full volume:
Author, (date). Title of Book. City of Publisher, Publisher: pages
There are numerous different style guides and for this course you will use the APA Style Manual noted below in red.
IEEE Citation Style - The IEEE Editorial Style Manual (2019) notes the specific ways that references and footnotes are to be handled in submissions to IEEE publications. The IEEE Referencing Guide notes practices and they are different than other styles, so follow this and perhaps these guides from the following university libraries will give more examples: Murdoch University or Purdue University's Owl series for IEEE.
ACM Style Manual - supports the Association of Computing Machinery publications.
Comparison of Computer Science/Engineering Style Manuals - Compares IEEE, ACM and APA for every form of output.
*MLA Style Format is documented in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 2009 at any of the UCI Library Reference Desks at REF LB 2369 G53 2009
*APA Style Format - The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed., 2020 is at every Reference Desk - REF BF76.7 .P83 2020. Additional resources with examples are noted at this site. A cheat sheet with many examples of how to cite different types of sources in many formats can be consulted.
Chicago Style Manual - an online version of the Chicago Style Manual is now available
BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE - allows you to discover, find, manage, recall and apply the citations you retrieve from all formats of work - journal articles, book chapters, edited volumes, standards, specifications, patents, conference papers & proceedings, lectures, etc. Neither Zotero nor EndNote support BibTeX or LaTeX, only the usual wordprocessing languages or Legal Style Manual. For additional information, please visit the Bibliographic Management Software page.
Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.