Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Engineering 190W - Spring 2020 - Harnick-Shapiro Section: Home


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ENGR190W_Harnick-Shapiro_Spring2020

Introduction & Background

This handout is to support students in this class on communication strategies and technical writing for engineers. It is organized to augment your assignments and serve as direction for conducting research for a range of information products and sources, perfecting writing and composition; developing presentation skills, etc. You have several assignments and this guide contains recommendations to several sources relevant to each task.

The COVID-19 crisis has put the physical collections of many research libraries out of reach, including ours. Fortunately, HathiTrust holds digital copies of many of these works. They have created an Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS), which opens up copyrighted material in the HathiTrust Digital Library to member institutions with copies of those items in their physical collections.

Millions of digitized books available through HathiTrust which are also in UC libraries’ collections are now available online to UC students, faculty, and staff. Use your UC credentials to login to the HathiTrust Digital Library, and then check-out in copyright books for online reading access for renewable one-hour loans. You can also still, as before, read and download public domain books at will.

Building Research Skills

The UCI Libraries Homepage is your point of departure and serves as a gateway to all online resources that are used for teaching and research.  This website will direct you to information resources and services, specifically, the online databases and will give you access to all that is defined by "Resource Tools" and "Finding eBooks" There are two functions on this screen - to search by eBook provider and by subject matter to introduce you to the major sources of eBooks. 

Other ways to determine what you are looking for is to consider the information source.  Is it one of the following?

 

 

Evaluating Information

When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - be attentive to domain -may include .com, .edu, .org, .gov, .net

Evaluating Information – Applying the CRAAP Test

For Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose

https://www.csuchico.edu/lins/handouts/eval_websites.pdf

 

Goal is to establish relevancy.  The evaluation criteria includes these issues:

 

Scope of coverage

Currency – be able to distinguish currency from timeliness

Relevance – meaningful to what audience; at what level; will you cite it as authoritative?

Authority – stem is author – establishes the source of the information – author/publisher/source/sponsor; organizational affiliations & credentials; contact information

Accuracy – reliability, correctness of content; supported by evidence; is it verifiable; is tone unbiased, objective, impartial & free of emotion; free of errors?

Purpose – are hypotheses and authors’ intentions clear?  Why is content important – to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?  Any political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?

Ease of use – Capturing, copying, citing; design & presentation

Citing Sources

In order to avoid plagiarism and to honor intellectual integrity, make sure that you cite the authority in a bibliographic reference to anything that is not your original writing or creation - that means when you quote a passage, insert a graphic image, figures, or illustration, that you cite the original source. The style manual you choose to follow should document how you cite electronic resources. Standard formats include the following reference elements:

Standard formats include the following reference elements:

For a Journal article or conference proceeding:

Author(s) - last name, first name, MI, - [include multiple authors if noted] (date), Title of article. Source of Article/Title of Journal. volume #, (issue #): pages. If it is only an electronic publication with no reference to print pages, then you cite the DOI - Digital Object Identifier and the date last visited.

If it is a conference paper, then you cite the Source of the Publication, Title of conference, date and location of meeting.

For books, the format is:

Author, editor of volume or chapter, (imprint date). Title of chapter in Title of Book, edited by editor if different. City of Publication: Publisher, page references. Note if it is an eBook.

For full volume:

Author, (date). Title of Book. City of Publisher, Publisher: pages

ACM Style Guide  - there are some examples in the link to MS Word in the list of references provided that can be used as a model for different writing elements

*** IEEE Citation Style ***- The IEEE Style Manual notes the specific ways that references and footnotes are to be handled.  You will be writing with a model of California Engineer - check it out at the Science Library Current Periodicals Room by journal title or for back issues, by call number TA 1 C28 in the Science Library Drum (round part of the Library)

MLA Style Format is documented by the with these resources  and in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 2009 at Langson Library Reference Desk at:  LL REF LB 2369 G53 2009

APA Style - The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed., 2020 is at every Reference Desk - REF BF76.7 .P83 2020.  Additional resources with examples are noted at this site. A cheat sheet with many examples of how to cite different types of sources in many formats can be consulted.  

Other hints:

  1. Avoid plagiarism, be ethical – OVERCITE!
    Plagiarism: what it is and how to recognize and avoid it. A guide prepared by the Writing Tutorial Services, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN http://www.indiana.edu/~wts?plagiarism.html

     

  2. Consult http://www.turnitin.com, a plagiarism detection program - ask your professor if you are interested in this.

     

  3. Be consistent

     

  4. Work on your presentation skills
    • very important now
    • when interviewing for job

     

  5. For additional information, consult with instructor, librarian, examine your style manual.

     

Bibliographic Management Software

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE - allows you to discover, find, manage, recall and apply the citations you retrieve from all formats of work - journal articles, book chapters, edited volumes, standards, specifications, patents, conference papers & proceedings, lectures, etc. Neither Zotero nor EndNote support BibTeX or LaTeX, only the usual wordprocessing languages or Legal Style Manual.  For additional information, please visit the Bibliographic Management Software page.  A comparison of all kinds of different products are noted at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_reference_management_software

Library is Open for eAccess

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Ask A Librarian

For Chat, Text, eMail and to schedule a Research Consultation with a Librarian, use:

 

Ask A Librarian

 

Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI

Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.  

  WiFi Wants To Be Free!

H o t s p o t r : Find a Wi-Fi hotspot in your area with Hotspotr, a Google Maps mashup that relies entirely on user input.  As with other Wi-Fi finders, you can search for hotspots by city, ZIP code or place, then get maps, driving directions, phone numbers, etc.