Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Course Guide will direct you to research information strategies and resources that will guide you to finding appropriate and relevant information in the field of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering. Obviously, there are overlaps with other disciplines such as Chemistry, Materials Science, Molecular Biology, Nanotechnology, Environmental Sciences & Engineering and the subject will continue to expand and converge with other areas. This guide builds on several goals:
- how to conduct a literature search
- how to stay informed and updated about new outputs in various topical areas - register for new releases and alert services
- citation options
- citation managers (bibliographic management systems)
- how to share information with colleagues and collaborators
- authenticating yourself - ORCID ID
- publishing trends & opportunities in field
- getting ready for thesis or dissertation research
You can download VPN on up to 5 devices: laptops, desktops, tablets, phones, etc. For any problems related to VPN & Connectivity, please contact OIT (949-824-2222)
Trends in Scholarly Communication
Scholarly publishing is constantly changing due to the "open movements" including Open Access, institutional repositories and directives, data management compliance, peer review practices, and other aspects that are responding to new demands in scholarly communication.
Following and tracking these issues is important.
Creating Academic Profile
There are many options for creating and enhancing your academic profile. Some hints include keeping information professional & do not share too many personal details through social media and if you post any documents make sure that they are in PDF and can't be altered. Sources that may be useful include:
Google Scholar Profile
Follow these steps:
1. Step 1: Create your basic profile. Log on to scholar.google.com and click the “My Profile” link at the top of the page to get your account setup started. ...
2. Step 2: Add publications. ...
3. Step 3: Make your profile public.
is a social reference management site with more than 5 million users. You may already be using it to store your citations and help keep track of your research, but it also has some great social features. You can list or upload your research publications, provide a brief academic CV, biographical information, and participate in a group. Mendeley groups allow you to share and discover new research in your field.
Even though LaTeX usage is the foundation of Overleaf it can be used to share and collaborate on other projects. UCI offers the Professional account here.
The Library website is a good point of departure to find almost anything. Research Guides prepared at UCI are good jumping off points for more specific resources and include:
Bibliographic Management Software
There are many products to use and several of them are listed on this site with a comparison. Additional products include:
Things To Do & Things To Know
Keep UCI Libraries Informed of Your Current Contact Information
Make sure that the UCI Libraries have current contact information for you so that we can inform you about any of your library transactions or information needs. Email email@example.com or text 949-303-7535
Connect from Off-Campus - VPN & OIT HelpDesk
Configure up to 5 devices including cell phone, tablet, laptop, desktop so that you can access licensed content when off-campus. Test VPN regularly and follow instructions to install. Contact OIT at 949-824-2222 for any assistance - open 24/7 or contact Help Desk at https://www.oit.uci.edu/helpdesk
UCI Library Website
Point of departure for all library announcements, exhibits, services, and links to staff and resources. Feel free to use this source for Virtual Tours (https://www.lib.uci.edu/visit-libraries) or various Subject Guides (http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/soceco_ppd).
My Library Account
To manage your personal library transactions.
Learn how to use self-checkout and other borrowing functions.
For resources that are not available at UCI, please check UC Library Search, click on the "External" link on Left Side Bar and find what you need to borrow from Worldcat and submit ILL requests within that framework. Outside of a textbook for a course, please contact us before you purchase anything in order to determine if we can obtain it for you. For more information consult this notice https://www.lib.uci.edu/interlibrary-loan
Copying & Printing
There are no cash transactions for copying - you can pay with credit/debit cards or deposit funds with Venmo, PayPal or ApplePay and Print on the go by downloading the Wepa Print App, available from the App Store or Google pay. UCI Photo-ID for copying/xeroxing and printing at any of the UCI Libraries - Costs noted here (www.lib.uci.edu/printing-copying-scanning).
Bibliographic Management Software
Consider adopting & learning some method of BMS to use for organizing information retrieved from literature searches, to take notes. Use the Comparison chart, take a tutorial & determine if it fits in to your workstyle. Will format outputs according to different style manuals. There is definitely a learning curve so allow time. The free or open source products are Mendeley, Zotero & EndNote Basic. In addition you may want to consider ReadCube/Papers which has a modest student fee (https://support.papersapp.com/support/solutions/30000035227)
Collaborative Software - Overleaf
A collaborative, cloud-based LaTeX editor for the writing, editing, compiling and publishing of scientific documents. Integrated directly with Bibliographic Management Software packages. Requires registration and can be used with collaborators at other institutions.
IEEE platform that is free for sign-up. Think of it as LinkedIn for Engineers. Very international in scope. Active discussion for authors.
MRC (Media Resource Center)
Includes Film/CD Collection, Makerspace/3D Printing, AV/computer equipment; Software; One Button/Presentation Studio, & other services/resources.
Learn about courses to master R, Python, Unix, GitHub, OpenRefine - they fill up fast so register early!
Subscriptions to Free Online National Newspapers
The UCI Libraries provides access to UCI affiliates to the Washington Post, LA Times, Wall Street Journal & New York Times. Register for these papers on your preferred device from the attached tabs.
Stay in tune with the program announcements.
Enjoy a film or other Streaming Media
Watch a film, documentary, play a game or enjoy other streaming media
Check out the Overdrive tab for fiction & non-fiction.
LastPass Password Manager
Recommended to secure stored passwords across your devices. UCI also has an Enterprise* account, which includes 1GB of encrypted file storage at no cost (*note that access ends one year after graduation, so back up your data if you decide to utilize the LastPass Enterprise account!)
Register for this unique & persistent digital identifier to disambiguate you from other authors with the same name. Stays with you as you move on from UCI. Is used to track your publishing output. Increasingly added to all signature lines & placed on resumes/CVs,
Stay on top of UCI Libraries' Phased Reopening Plans
When and what library services will be reopening including curbside pickup for print resources, study space, requesting online access to content, etc is scheduled according to state & county directives.
Serving as a TA
As a TA serve as intermediary between faculty and librarian by syllabus, assignments, seek contributions to support class to promote information literacy to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Graduate & Post-Doctoral Resource Center
Variety of services to enhance graduate student & research/writing experience.
As a safe alternative to walking alone at night, the CSO Safety Escort program is a 24-hour complimentary service for members of the UCI community.
UCI Campus Safety Escort
(949) 824-7233 (SAFE)
UCI Health Safety Escort at UCIMC
Consider joining professional societies
It demonstrates commitment to your professional goals to identify with the professional society that best meets your current interests. Registering as a student offers cost savings. Once you graduate such membership bridges you to retaining access to publications issued by the society.