Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Writing 39C: Argument & Research: Advocacy Project Sources

Recommended resources for students working on their Writing 39C research and writing assignments.
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/w39c

Introduction

"Kentucky Children's Advocacy," by Associated Press (2012)

ADVOCACY is a strategy to influence policy makers when they make laws and regulations, distribute resources, and make other decisions that affect peoples' lives.

This page will introduce you to resources we've curated to help you find policies useful for your project. The principal aims of advocacy are to create policies, reform policies, and ensure policies are implemented.

Use Databases to Find a Policy

These databases can help you locate articles that mention policies.

policy search alternatives

Think Tanks

Think tanks can be a great resource for research and statistics on a variety of topics, but think tanks are advocacy oriented. That a think tank refers to itself as non-partisan means that it has no formal connection to a political party, not that it doesn’t have an ideological orientation that may be more consistent with a given political party.

Use Newspapers to Find a Policy

Newspapers can be helpful sources of current information about new policies. Editorials and the Op-Ed pages are particularly good places to look, because they are spaces in which people write about problems and how they might be solved.

Find State Policies

Find Federal Policies

Find International Policies

Ask a Librarian

Ask A Librarian

If you're stuck trying to find policies, don't forget that you can always ask a librarian!

Where Can I Find More?

Use Think Tanks to Find Policies

Use Associations to Find Policies

Gale Encyclopedia of Associations
Provides detailed information on organizations around the world.  Includes links to organization websites.

Washington Information Directory

Washington Information Directory*
Provides information on U.S. governmental and nongovernmental agencies and organizations.  Use it to find out which agencies promulgate policies on social, economic, and political issues.

Statistics: Support Your Argument

<AP> MEASLES 050511: Chart shows annual number of cases in the U.S.; 1c x 4 1/2 inches; 47 mm x 114 mm; with BC-Measles; FD; ETA 5 a.m. <AP>

Use FedStats or ProQuest's Statistical Abstract of the U.S.* to find raw statistics and make your own graphs or charts to show trends. 

Look in newspapers, AP images, CQ Researcher, USAFacts or other resources to find graphs and charts created by others.