United States Code Annotated has all 50 titles and includes the Constitution, court rules and appendixes. Annotated materials include notes of decisions, cross references, research references, and more. The USCA database contains documents from the United States Constitution and titles of the United States Code Annotated, and includes court rules, Federal Sentencing Guidelines, certain sections from the Code of Federal Regulations, and appendices. A document is an annotated section of the United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.). Provisions from Public Laws classified as notes in the United States Code database can be found under the corresponding section of United States Code Annotated. Ongoing updates from the 111th Congress, First Session, are incorporated into the affected titles of the United States Code Annotated.
This file contains the statutory code for the United States of America as published in the compilation entitled United States Code Service. It includes all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the United States Congress. The USCS database contains documents from the United States Constitution and titles of the United States Code Service, and includes court rules, Federal Sentencing Guidelines, certain sections from the Code of Federal Regulations, and appendices.
The United States Code is the official consolidation and codification of all general and permanent laws of the United States that are in force as of a certain date. It is divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S.
HeinOnline is the world's largest image-based legal research database. With almost 50 million pages of legal information at the touch of a button, HeinOnline is a virtual treasure trove of resources for legal researchers and professionals worldwide. All content within HeinOnline is image-based in PDF format, from inception and fully searchable, making it the most user-friendly database available.
House of Representatives. Since 1926, the United States Code has been published every six years. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information HeinOnline's coverage of the U.S. Code is comprehensive, dating back to inception. Collection features include the ability to browse the bindings by Edition or Title and a U.S. Code Citation Search tool which allows you to enter a Title #, Section #, and select an Edition to help easily locate a specific citation.
"The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926. The next main edition was published in 1934, and subsequent main editions have been published every six years since 1934. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information. FDsys contains virtual main editions of the U.S. Code..."
This version is generated from the most recent official version made available by the US House of Representatives. The date of any text appearing on this site appears in italics at the upper right in every Code section.
"A statute is a written law enacted by a legislature. The statutes you will deal with most frequently in United States law are federal and state statutes. There are also local (i.e., city or county) statutes, usually called ordinances..."
This HeinOnline database contains all of the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789 to ;atest official volume. The U.S. Statutes at Large (Statutes at Large) is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress.
Public and private laws are also known as slip laws. A slip law is an official publication of the law and is competent evidence admissible in all state and Federal courts and tribunals of the United States. Public laws affect society as a whole, while private laws affect an individual, family, or small group.
After the President signs a bill into law, it is delivered to the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) where it is assigned a law number, legal statutory citation (public laws only), and prepared for publication as a slip law. Private laws receive their legal statutory citations when they are published in the United States Statutes at Large.
The volumes below are all statutes for the years indicated, although some years are divided. The omitted volumes 6-8 deal with treaties, post offices and roads, DC laws, etc. If you want to see those laws as they appeared in the mid 1870s, then look at the Revised Statutes. Statutes at Large 1789-1875 are also available at the Library of Congress American Memory Project. The Constitution Society is a private non-profit organization dedicated to research and public education on the principles of constitutional republican government. It publishes documentation, engages in litigation, and organizes local citizens groups to work for reform.
This organization was founded in response to the growing concern that noncompliance with the Constitution for the United States of America and most state constitutions is creating a crisis of legitimacy that threatens freedom and civil rights. Although the focus here is on government in the United States, coverage also includes the rest of the world, and private as well as public organizations. We maintain that the principles of constitutional republicanism are universal, and applicable to all nations, although not well understood or upheld by most. We also examine the related principles of federalism and nomocracy, the rule of law, of nomology, the science of law, and show how those principles are applicable to solving the fundamental problem of avoiding excessive or unbalanced concentrations of power.
The United States Statutes at Large, commonly referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress. Publication began in 1845 by the private firm of Little, Brown and Company under authority granted by a joint resolution of Congress.
A bill is a legislative proposal brought before Congress in either the House or the Senate. Bills introduced in the House are assigned sequential numbers in the order in which they are introduced and are preceded by "H.R.". Bills introduced in the Senate are assigned sequential numbers preceded by "S.".
GovTrack tracks the United States Congress. Follow the status of federal legislation or learn about your members of Congress -- GovTrack has information on all bills and votes going back over a decade, etc. ...
Overview of the Legislative Process: "Article I of the U.S. Constitution grants all legislative powers to a bicameral Congress: a House of Representatives and a Senate that are the result of a “Great Compromise” seeking to balance the effects of popular majorities with the interests of the states. Our system currently provides for a two-year term of office for House members from the 435 population-based districts. In the Senate, voters of each state elect two Senators, who serve 6-year terms that overlap (such that only one-third of the chamber is up for election in any given election cycle)..."
"Revealing Money's Influence on Politics -- MapLight is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization that reveals money's influence on politics. Elected officials collect large sums of money to run their campaigns, and they often pay back campaign contributors with special access and favorable laws. This common practice is contrary to the public interest, yet legal..."
"CQ Roll Call provides essential intelligence and grassroots advocacy resources to take action. As the premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation, we keep our fingers on the pulse of the legislative process and give our clients the tools they need to maximize their influence. We are the ultimate insider, and our unmatched network of relationships and expertise has powered the productivity of those who rely on us since 1945..."
THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public.
Reporting since 1994 "on the intersection of politics and business, connecting Capitol Hill, K Street, Wall Street and Pennsylvania Avenue for non-partisan coverage of all factors in legislative decisions."
"The Source For News On Capitol Hill Since 1955 ... Roll Call provides essential intelligence and grassroots advocacy resources. As the premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation, we keep our fingers on the pulse of the legislative process ..."