Research Guides: Surgery Subject Guide: Find Articles & Books

Access Key (3 icons)

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Research Librarian for the Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacology, Public Health

Hector R. Perez-Gilbe

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

UC Irvine
Science Library
Room 232
Irvine, CA 92623
perezhr@uci.edu

(949) 824-6957

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences

Find Articles and Books

UC Library Search

Search collections across all UC campuses or limit your search to UCI. Includes print books and articles, electronic books and articles, book chapters, and more.

Look for Download PDF or the Get it at UC logo to access full text
Use Advanced Search to search for a specific book, article, or journal by title
Get helpful search tips from our Guide to using UC Library Search

Find a journal in UC Library Search

Interlibrary Loan & Transfers

Use UC Library Search to request articles and books not owned by UCI Libraries at no cost to you through interlibrary loan.
To transfer materials from Langson/Science to the Grunigen Medical Library, use the Request link in UC Library Search record for the Langson/Science owned material and choose your pickup location as Grunigen.
For material found in WorldCat but not in UC Library Search, submit a request using the Blank ILL Request Form.

Biomedical and Interdisciplinary Databases

Find articles or books on a specific subject:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with topics related to physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles can be explored.

Find a specific article:

PubMed Single Citation Matcher
Select Single Citation Matcher from the PubMed homepage. Use this tool to find PubMed citations by entering as much (or as little) information you have such as words from the article title, publication year, journal name, author(s), etc.

Best Bets for Finding Medical eBooks

AccessMedicine
Browse eBooks by topic or search by keyword, title, author, or ISBN. Refer also to GML Core Resources list for Access Anesthesiology, Cardiology, HemOnc, Neurology, ObGyn, Pediatrics, Pharmacy, and Surgery collections.
ClinicalKey
Browse eBooks by specialty or select Books from the All Types dropdown menu and enter keywords to search.
LWW Health Library
Browse collections by specialty or search by keywords or author.
Thieme Clinical Collections
Select the Books tab to view hundreds of clinical medicine eBooks from Thieme Clinical Collections, or search by keyword, author, or title.
Thieme MedOne Education
Browse clinical education and reference eBooks as well as multimedia resources by subject area or search by keyword, author, editor, or title.
More Medical eBook Resources
An extended A-Z list of both free and UCI subscription resources for locating eBooks in medicine and the health sciences.

Quick Links

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Surgery Subject Guide