Provides directions, interactive maps, and satellite aerial imagery of the United States. On May 25, 2007, Google released Street View, which provides 360° panoramic street-level views of various U.S. cities.
Free web mapping service application and technology that powers many map-based services. It offers street maps, a route planner, and an urban business locator for countries around the world. A related product is Google Earth, a standalone program for Microsoft Windows, Mac OS X and Linux which offers enhanced globe-viewing features.
SocialExplorer provides access to demographic information about the U.S. from 1940 to 2000. A free version of the SocialExploer platform is available to create interactive demographic maps and reports for Census 2000 data.
The subscription edition features thousands of interactive demographic maps and reports from 1940 to 2000, as well as a full-featured reporting engine that makes historical demographic research fast and easy.
You can easily navigate the enormous amount of information in TerraServer by selecting a location on a map or entering a place name. And now, a new Web service--called TerraServer.NET--enables Web developers to easily integrate TerraServer data into their own applications.
ESRI Data & Maps 2006 is delivered on five DVDs and contains many types of map data at many scales of geography. Composed of more than 24 GB of data, including over 190 pre-symbolized data layers, it follows the FGDC standard and contains ISO 19115-compliant metadata. The entire dataset can be read directly from the DVDs.
ESRI GIS data file disks are available to UCI students, staff and faculty from NACS. Please contact NACS to access the disks. Software CDS can be reserved or checked out from the NACS Response Center in Engineering Gateway (email@example.com or (949) 824-2222).
UCI Libraries has access to several GIS census products from Geolytics, Inc. These products are in CD-ROM and web formats and cover the 1970-2000 censuses. Individual titles can be located by searching ANTPAC with the keyword Geolytics.
A collection of machine readable data in a variety of formats and covering a variety of subject areas. An excellent beginning for data in the Social Sciences. UCI faculty, staff and students also have access to the data from ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
GeoLytics, Inc Source of data is from the Fourth Count Population Summary Tape and Fourth Count Housing Summary Tape from the U.S. Census Bureau. Software creates customized, exportable data and map reports. Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Dataset includes details about the population and housing of the United States, including demographic information down to the neighborhood level (block groups) from the 1990 U.S. Census long form (STF3 A, B, C, and D). [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
Contains the entire US Census Bureau's SF3 dataset from the Census 2000 long form. Includes variables such as income, housing, employment, language spoken, ancestry, education, poverty, rent, mortgage, commute to work, etc. [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
GeoLytics, [2006?]- This dataset includes all of the available cross-tabulated variables (income by age, employment by race) released by the US Census Bureau. Software creates customized, exportable data and map reports. Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Contains nationwide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Census Bureau data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. [ACCESS RESTRICTED]
The American Factfinder contains downloadable data sets for use with the 2000 Census information as well data from the American Community Survey. Census 2000 data are also included as part of the ArcGIS software.
Tiger files are a digital database describing geographic features covering the entire United States used by the Census Bureau to support its mapping needs for the Decennial Censuses and other programs of the Bureau.
Combines data sets in the areas of terrestrial biodiversity, aquatic biodiversity, urban open space and rural recreation, working landscapes, stressors, and land conservation to provide a comprehensive mapping of California's natural resources.
Participants include cities, counties, utilities, state and federal agencies, private businesses and academic institutions that have spatial and other types of data resources. The Catalog has been developed through a collaborative effort with the California Geographic Information Association, California Environmental Resources Evaluation System, and the Federal Geographic Data Committee.
The purpose of LUPIN is to compile an aggregate view of California's land use and environmental planning information. Includes city and county zoning ordinances, environmental assessment data, spatial data, county and city general plans, regional plans, and more.
The LandScan Global Population Database, developed by the Dept of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), is the world’s most accurate and reliable, geographically based, distribution model & finest resolution global population database. LandScan is the industry standard for global population distribution. If you need to download entire global raster data please contact librarian for assistance & assigned credentials.