Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Planning, Policy, & Design: Home


URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/soceco_ppd

News Block

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI

Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.  

WIFI FINDER

Hotspotr : Find a Wi-Fi hotspot in your area with Hotspotr, a Google Maps mashup that relies entirely on user input.  As with other Wi-Fi finders, you can search for hotspots by city, ZIP code or place, then get maps, driving directions, phone numbers, etc. 

About PPD

The Planning, Policy and Design Department reflects a number of disciplines and academic interests, many with significant intersections underlying a great deal of interdisciplinarity.  These include the subjects of Urban & Regional Planning, Architecture,  Environmental Psychology, Environmental Law, Preservation, Geography, Transportation, Housing, Regional Analysis, Public Arts, Public Policy, Urban Studies, and Environmental Health, Sustainability & Science, Water Resources, Population & Demography and related subjects.  There are also many professional areas and specific applications represented and includes planning, architurecture, forecasting, GIS, etc. 

The library collections have been developed to support instruction and current research efforts by faculty and graduate students and also reflect to the extent possible global coverage of issues.  They include books, journals, conference papers, government information, data sets, films & multimedia, grey literature and are found in all formats.  Always growing, the collections are expanding in scope and depth.  This website is a sitemap of how to find and use some of these resources.

Many of the resources listed in this Guide reflect international and country rankings from a variety of measurement sources in a wide range of subjects.  The emphasis on international development from many different vantage points is the intention of much of this compilation of resources.  It is recommended to use the "Subject Coverage" tab to find additional topical concentrations and resources.

Using Databases

Off-campus users: Please login to the VPN

For descriptive information about each database,go to "Finding Articles" tab.

Evaluating Information

When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - consider domain - .edu, .com, .gov, .org, etc.

Thinking Critically about World Wide Web Resources - or Evaluation Techniques for Internet Resources

  1. Authority control - authorship - who, affiliation, where
  2. Currency - note the date, the update, does it reflect the right period of time
  3. Evaluate the source - establish criteria that is meaningful to covering the topic
  4. Citing Internet resources - URL & date of the search
  5. Capturing and citing
  6. Copying

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Ayala Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Ask A Librarian

For Chat, Text, eMail and to schedule a Research Consultation with a Librarian, use:

 

Ask A Librarian