Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Public Health: Home

Resources for Public Health Students, Staff, and Faculty Members.
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/publichealth

News Block

Ask a Librarian

 

Ask A Librarian

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

Other Subject, Resource & Course Guides

Use this box to link to any related subject, Library or course guides.

Twitter

CDC Flu On Twitter
https://twitter.com/CDCFlu

CDC Emergency On Twitter
http://twitter.com/cdcemergency

CDC For Health Professionals On Twitter
http://twitter.com/cdc_ehealth

FDA Recalls On Twitter
http://twitter.com/fdarecalls

World Health Organization (WHO) News On Twitter
http://twitter.com/whonews

 

What is Twitter?
Twitter is a service for friends, family, and co–workers to communicate and stay connected through the exchange of quick, frequent answers to one simple question: What are you doing?

Sign up for Twitter here.

Public Health Programs

Learning about academic programs offering various degrees in Public Health are found in several sources.

About Public Health

The Program in Public Health reflects a number of disciplines and academic interests, many with significant intersections between medicine, epidemiology, disease prevention, health care, environmental sciences, food sciences & nutrition, demography & sociology, education, gender studies, anthropology, Housing, Geography and many other relevant areas.  There are also many professional areas and specific applications represented and includes planning, forecasting, GIS, etc. 

The library collections are to support instruction and current research efforts by faculty and graduate students and the diverse undergraduate programs and the global coverage of relevant issues.  They include books, journals, conference papers, government information, data sets, films & multimedia, grey literature and are found in all formats.  Always growing, the collections are expanding in scope and depth.  This website is a sitemap of how to find and use some of these resources.

Many of the resources listed in this Guide reflect international contributions from a variety of sources in a wide range of subjects.  The emphasis on international development from many different vantage points is the intention of much of this compilation of resources.  It is recommended to use the "Subject Coverage" tab to find additional topical concentrations and resources, and to comprehensively explore the guide by clicking through it.  Of course, it is a work in progress and with your input, will better support your needs.

Using Databases

Off-campus users: Please login to the VPN

For descriptive information about each database,go to "Finding Articles" tab.

Key Sites

2010 Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill Links

This is the CDC's site linking out resources on the 2010 Guilf of Mexico Oil Spill:

http://emergency.cdc.gov/chemical/oil_spill_gm_2010.asp

This is the Dept. of Health and Human Services' Oil Spill resources page:

http://www.hhs.gov/gulfoilspill/index.html

Minerals and Management Service Oil Spill Links:

http://www.mms.gov/offshore/OilSpillProgram/index.htm

H1N1 Flu Information

Using Databases

Off-campus users: Please login to the VPN

For descriptive information about each database,go to "Finding Articles - Using Databases" tab.

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Ayala Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Research Librarian for the Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Public Health

Hector Perez-Gilbe, MLIS, MPH, AHIP's picture
Hector Perez-Gilbe, MLIS, MPH, AHIP
Contact:
UC Irvine
Ayala Science Library
Room 232
Irvine, CA 92623
(949) 824-6957

Library Hours

Please check the website to verify library hours.

Summer 2015 International Student Opportunities

Career Information for Public Health/Epidemiology