Research Guides: Psychological Sciences: Books

Dictionaries, Handbooks, and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Mind Brings together the entire range of mind-related academic disciplines from across the arts and humanities, social sciences, life sciences, and computer science and engineering to explore the multidimensional nature of the human mind.
The Oxford Companion to the Mind In no other book can the reader find discussions of concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences such as the ‘cocktail-party’ and ‘halo’ effects, and the least effort principle.

A Dictionary of Psychology by Andrew M. Colman The Dictionary covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics. It features comprehensive coverage of key areas, for example: cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods.
Call Number: BF31 .C65 2009
ISBN: 9780199534067

Handbook of Cognition and Emotion (2013) Examines the relationship between cognition and emotion; biological underpinnings, the role of neurotransmitters and hormones; explore how key cognitive processes--such as attention, learning, and memory--shape emotional phenomena, and vice versa; and explore individual differences -such as agreeableness and emotional intelligence.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Second Edition) Interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields; discusses history, current trends and future directions.
21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook Handbook highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of psychology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.

UC Library Search Catalog

eBook Collections in Psychology

Very Short Introductions in Social Sciences This series offers concise introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts, combining facts, analysis, and new insights.
Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development Major reports of developmental research that generate authoritative new findings, fresh perspectives on conceptually significant issues, controversy and commentary on all aspects of child development for professionals in the field.
National Academy Press A collection of free e-books on related topics to psychology, social behavior, and cognitive science from The National Academies of Science Engineering and Medicine.
Cognitive Psychology eBook Collection [T&F] Collection includes topics in biopsychology, comparative psychology, parapsychology, and cognitive neuroscience.
PEP Web* (Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing) Subscription to view the complete text of over 55 journals in the psychological arena, up through the current three to five years (PEP Current Content) and all books.
PsychiatryOnline eBook Library Includes DSM-IV-TR manual, Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Cases, and Symptom Index
Oxford Scholarship Online - Neuroscience eBook Collection
Psychology Oxford Handbooks Online Tour Oxford online resources, narrow down into content from over a dozen subcategories.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Psychology A dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers.

eBook Collections

SAGE eReference This link opens in a new window
A social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press resources. Access eBooks, debates, dictionaries, handbooks, and encyclopedias with an easy search by subject discipline or collection options.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of ebooks published by Taylor & Francis. Topics in the humanities, social sciences, behavioral science, natural science, technology, and medicine are covered.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of journals and ebooks with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Publishers include numerous university presses and scholarly societies.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Collections of in-depth summaries in cultural history, anthropology, climate science, criminology, economics, education, literature, neuroscience, politics, public health, psychology, and religion.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Offering thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a range of multidisciplinary ebooks, book chapters, reference works, and journals .
MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window
This collection includes MIT Press titles that are accessible as ebooks. Key subject areas covered include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core provides access to Cambridge University Press's academic content, including books and journals.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
An e-book collection of reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
De Gruyter Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the E-Books, E-journals, and a variety of digital products offered by De Gruyter group in the humanities, social sciences, STM, law and more.
Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
This series offers concise introductions to a wide range of subjects, written by experts. Each volume provides an assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches.

eBook Collections LibGuide
Everything you wanted to know about eBooks and the UCI Libraries.

Finding Books

For e-books & books at UCI: Search UC Library Search

To request a book we don't have at UCI: Interlibrary Loan

To browse books and journals on the shelves, go to these locations: Note Psychology books have BF call numbers, which are in the Langson Library in the basement.

Affection. Feeling. Emotion (BF511-593)
Behavioral medicine (WB103)
Child development Including child-rearing, child life, play, and socialization (HQ767.8-792.2)
Clinical psychology. Mental health (WM105)
Cognition Including learning, attention, comprehension, memory, imagination, genius, intelligence, thought and thinking, psycholinguistics, mental fatigue (BF309-499)
Differential psychology. Individuality. Self (BF697-697.5)
Experimental psychology (BF180-198.7)
Genetic psychology (BF699-711)
Industrial& and organizational psychology (HF5548)
Mathematical Psychology (BF39)
Motivation (BF501-505)
Neurophysiology & neuropsychology (QP351-495)
Personality (BF698-698.9)
Psychological tests and testing (BF176-176.5)
Social Psychology and Social Networks (HM741)
Will. Volition. Choice. Control (BF608-635)

General Social Sciences Ebook Collections

World Digital Library
A free, open access publisher of multilingual primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Browse by topics including Philosophy and Psychology, Social Science, Religion and Language.
EThOS - Electronic Theses Online Service
The British Library's free, open access database of full text theses and dissertations in the U.K.
World Bank - Open Knowledge Repository (OKR)
The OKR is the official open access repository of the World Bank.
DOAB ( Directory of Open Access Books)
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books.
National Academy Press
A collection of free e-books on related topics to psychology, social behavior, and cognitive science from The National Academies of Science Engineering and Medicine.