Skip to main content
On Sunday, March 26, 2017, UC Irvine Research Guides will experience some minor loss in functionality due to scheduled maintenance on related systems.
Hello and welcome to UCI's LibGuide for English and Comparative Literature.
The Home Page is designed to provide you with immediate access to the most important literature research resources.
Feel free to contact your research librarian, Matt Roberts, with any questions or to schedule a research consultation.
Need to connect from off campus? No problem. Just download UCI's VPN software.
The UCI Libraries English and Comparative Literature Research Guide is a living guide that is regularly updated. To recommend resources that should be added to the guide, or to request trials of resources not currently licensed by UCI, please contact Matt Roberts directly.
Search Library and Archival Catalogs
USE ANTPAC TO SEARCH FOR ITEMS OWNED BY UCI LIBRARIES
How to Find a Book
ANTPAC Search Help
USE MELVYL TO SEARCH FOR ITEMS FROM ACROSS THE GLOBE
THE ONLINE ARCHIVE OF CALIFORNIA (OAC) PROVIDES FREE PUBLIC ACCESS TO DETAILED DESCRIPTIONS OF PRIMARY RESOURCE COLLECTIONS MAINTAINED BY MORE THAN 200 CONTRIBUTING INSTITUTIONS.
WITH OVER 1,000 DIFFERENT ARCHIVAL INSTITUTIONS REPRESENTED, ARCHIVEGRID HELPS RESEARCHERS LOOKING FOR PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL HELD IN ARCHIVES, LIBRARIES, MUSEUMS, AND HISTORICAL SOCIETIES
Databases to Get You Started
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
Literature Criticism Online
The largest curated online collection of literary criticism in the world, this resource brings together 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Online is the leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It is a fully integrated service that combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (Gale Artemis)
Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery
Voice of the Shuttle
The Voice of the Shuttle began in late 1994 as an introduction to the Web for humanists at the University of California, Santa Barbara. VoS emphasizes both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources, and defines its audience as people who have something to learn from a higher-education, professional approach to the humanities (which in practice has included students and instructors from the elementary school, high school, and general population sectors).
MANAGE YOUR LIBRARY ACCOUNTS
MANAGE UCI LIBRARY ACCOUNTS (Melvyl, ANTPAC, and ILL)
Just In! (Literary Criticism)
Recent Faculty Publications
Call Number: Coming Soon!
Publication Date: 2016-08-06