Research Guides: Literary Journalism: Home

Librarian for Humanities and Literature

Email Me

Contact:

Langson Library 107

Subjects: Comparative Literature, English, Philosophy

Recognizing the Biases in Academic Scholarship

In order to critically engage with scholarly discourse, researchers need to be aware of the inherent problems within the system of academic scholarship. Those problems could be anything from standards set by white hegemonic systems to subject terms with implicit biases. By acknowledging these inherent problems, all scholars can participate in improving the academic and public discourse.

Key LibGuides

To find even more information, please consult the following LibGuides to find relevant material for your research.

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

UCI Library VPN

Check My VPN Connection- Vertical

Welcome!

Hello and welcome the the UCI Libraries LibGuide for Literary Journalism.

In this guide, you will find numerous research resources. The guide's tabs will direct you to resources organized by genre. If you have any questions, feel free to contact Richard M. Cho, your research librarian for Literary Journalism. If you need to connect to the library from off campus, be sure to download the VPN software. Finally, be sure to take advantage of UCI Libraries' Quick Reference Guide for answers to common reference questions.

Key Resource (News and Newspapers)

ProQuest News and Newspapers (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, etc.)
Access a variety of current and historical newspapers, including the Los Angeles Times, the Los Angeles Times Historical, the New York Times, and the New York Times Historical.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is a newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Titles covered include Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.
California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of selected California newspapers spanning the years from 1849 to 1911. The project is run by the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research at the UC Riverside.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News provides information and perspectives from numerous national and international news sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Contains cover-to-cover full text for many national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for hundreds of regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and more.

CRL: International Coalition on Newspapers
Links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers, listed alphabetically by country.
Newspapers.com
Newspapers.com is the online home of 200+ million pages of historical newspapers from 6,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond. Newspapers provide a unique view of the past and can help us understand and connect with the people, events and attitudes of an earlier time
Newspaper Library Guide
UCI Library Research Guide for newspaper sources.
Newspaper Navigator
Newspaper Navigator is a project being carried out by Benjamin Charles Germain Lee as part of the Innovator in Residence Program at the Library of Congress. The goals of Newspaper Navigator are 1) to extract visual content from 16+ million pages of digitized historic American newspapers in Chronicling America and 2) re-imagine how you, members of the American public, can search the visual content using machine learning techniques.

Free Newspaper Subscription for UCI Community!

The New York Times
Live news, investigations, opinion, photos and video by the journalists of The New York Times from more than 150 countries around the world.
The Washington Post
A source for expert reporting and analysis from Washington and around the world, including award-winning investigate coverage and editorial commentary
The Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal was founded in July 1889. Ever since, the Journal has led the way in chronicling the rise of industries in America and around the world.
The Orange County Register
The Orange County Register is a paid daily newspaper published in California. The Register, published in Anaheim, is owned by Digital First Media.
The Financial Times
The Financial Times (FT) is one of the world's leading news organizations, recognized internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy.

Key Resources (Archives and Archival Collections)

UCI Libraries Special Collections and Archives
Special Collections and Archives houses the UC Irvine Libraries' collections of rare books, manuscripts, archives, photographs, and other rare and special materials. We welcome students, researchers, and the community members to visit and use our collections and services within our reading room.
OC & SEAA
The Orange County & Southeast Asian Archive (OC & SEAA) Center at UCI Libraries provides a collaborative space with services and resources to guide users seeking to document and study the history of the Orange County area and its changing demographics.
UCI Space
UCIspace @ the Libraries is an open access service for the UCI community to publish, manage, and preserve diverse kinds of research output. Collections include the Online Archives of UCI.
ArchiveGrid
Find primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Online Archive of California
Provides access to descriptions and finding aids for materials such as manuscripts, photographs, and works of art held in libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions across California.

Key Resources (Scholarly Articles)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO provides an international index for scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source via EBSCO is an excellent place to research a vast array of education topics. This database includes peer reviewed, scholarly journals, conference papers, videos, and some Open Access journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Content includes scholarly business journals (including open access journals), trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, country reports, company reports, and more.

Key Resources (Databases)

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Global full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites.
Maximum 12 users at a time.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to U.S. federal and state statutes, regulations, court cases, administrative agency decisions, law reviews, to selected court briefs and pleadings, and legal news sources. Also includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters and various directories are also available. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
The collection indexes and abstracts evening news segments from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, and Fox News. UCI only has streaming access to NBC (Aug 5, 1968 -present) and CNN (1989 - present) content.

Streaming video is limited to parts of the collection due to copyright. News segments not available streaming can be purchased through the Archive and will be loaned digitally and available for 30-days. To request, users must create an account with the Archive. More information can be found here: https://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/tvnews
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Press Library is the place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences.

Television News Archive
The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Internet Archive Wayback Machine
The Internet Archive, non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, it provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Its mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.

Literary Journalism