Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

History: Archives and Microform

Information resources for UCI students, faculty, and staff interested in the field of history.
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/history

Microform / Microfilms at UCI

To search the microform collections at UCI go into ANTPAC and click on "Advanced Keyword". Try some general search terms in the "Any Field" box. (e.g., Medieval and England). Then scroll down and in the "Microform" box, select "All Microforms". (Do NOT select "Any"). Hint: Always try to find the Guide to the collection, as the Guide is extremely important for locating specific documents.

All microforms (including government documents and newspapers) are located on the second floor in the Grand Reading Room of the Ayala Science Library.

Archival Directories

Archivegrid
A very useful guide to locating archives around the world. Information can be searched by topic or specific archive. New resources are continually added.

EROMM Database
European Register of Microform and Digital Masters is an international database to help libraries coordinate microfilming and other reformatting activities aimed at the preservation of information. You can search the database but because UCI is not a member you can NOT use the request feature to get items sent to you. You will need to use our Interlibrary Loan Request.

Online Archive of California (OAC)
Provides access to descriptions and finding aids for materials such as manuscripts, photographs, and works of art held in libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions across California.

Library of Congress Finding Aids
Archival finding aids are detailed guides to primary source material which provide fuller information than that normally contained within cataloging records. This page provides links to online archival finding aids at the Library of Congress.

National Archives and Records Administration

National Register of Archives
The NRA contains information on the nature and location of manuscripts and historical records that relate to British history.