Research Guides: Materials Science: Key Websites

Key Websites

* Indicates UCI Access Only

Resources included here are highly recommended for data and special coverage. For additional resources in Nanotechnology and Crystallography, please consult tab marked Special Resources.

ACerS Phase Equilibria Diagrams by NIST version 3.1*
Call number: Science Library (SL) REF QD503 .A24 2004
Graphical representations of regions of distinct chemical and structural behavior of materials' thermodynamic equilibrium.
Diagrams constructed as a function of composition and temperature for ceramics industry.
more...less...
Older editions of the Phase Equilibria Diagram books are available in the General Stacks and can be found by using ANTPAC.
ACerS-NIST Phase Diagrams Tutorial (Flash movie 02:07)-Tutorial
Flash tutorial for database. The Phase Equilibria Diagrams CD-ROM Database Version 3.1 for 2005 contains more than 20,000 diagrams previously published in phase volumes produced as part of the ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams Program.
more...less...
Volumes I thru XIV, Annuals 91 thru 93, High Tc Superconductors I & II, Zirconium and Zirconia Systems, and Electronic Ceramics. (12.5 Mb)
Alloy Phase Diagram Center Online
The ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center allows subscribers to explore, search and view more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2400 systems from their Web browsers.
Annual Reviews*
Annual Reviews of Materials Research
ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Center Online
This resource provides access to more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2,400 systems. The colleciton will be updated to include 10,000 binary and 20,000 ternary diagrams.
more...less...
The first update will occur in September 2007 and include close to 18,000 ternary diagrams. An introduction and explanation of this database is located under the help tab at the ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Center
ASM Handbooks Online
The online equivalent of the multivolume set of ASM Handbooks.
ASM Materials for Medical Devices Database
A comprehensive and authoritative set of mechanical, physical, biological response, and drug compatibility properties for the materials and coatings used in medical devices by the ASM.
more...less...
Allows access to SSED device documentation, exportation of mechanical properties to FEA applications, and a fully relational and modular index for medical device design. A tool for both researchers, students and designers. When the database is fully developed it will contain information for cardiovascular/thoracic devices, orthopedic devices, and neurological and dental devices. Currently only the first two modules have significant content.
ASTM SEDL (Standards & Engineering Digital Library)
ASTM, is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of international voluntary consensus standards. SEDL includes nearly 15,000 active ASTM standards used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access & trade, & build consumer confidence. Also, there are 28,500 historical & withdrawn standards, plus 12,300 Redlined Standards (PDF documents that provide change marks to compare changes between an active standard & the prior version) included where revisions were made. There are nearly 100 categories of standards with the largest number in the categories of Construction, Metals, Paint & Related Coatings, Petroleum, Plastics, Environmental, Rubber, Steel, Textiles, & Electronics; new areas that reflect 3D Imaging standards, Additive Manufacturing & Medical Device Standards.
more...less...
The SEDL requires that all users click through and accepts the terms of the license. While ASTM is best known for it’s standards, SEDL also includes nearly every other ASTM publication, including 1500+ books and 60,000+ papers and chapters dating back to 1932.

In addition to the standards, three main collections of publications compose the books, journals and papers of the SEDL, and the CDL Shared Cataloging or SCP unit will be processing individual bibliographic records at the source level for the following content that will be noted in Melvyl and local opacs:
1. Peer reviewed conference proceedings/Special Technical Publications (STPs)
2. Journals – ASTM issues the following titles:
a. Geotechnical Testing Journal
b. Journal of Testing and Evaluation
c. Journal of ASTM International
d. Journal of Forensic Sciences Backfile from 972-2005
e. Journal of Cement, Concrete and Aggregates (CCA) – historical issues
f. Journal of Composites Technology and Research (JCTR) – historical issues
3. Manuals, Monographs and Data Series Library – basically an eBook collection
Cambridge Structural Database
For more information, please see box bellow.
Chemical Abstracts Service via SciFinder Scholar*
1907-present. Search for citations, chemical substances, organic, organometallic, natural product, biocatalyzed reactions; by topic, author, patent number, CAS Registry Number, chemical name, structure, and formula. Requires client software for Mac/Win.
eFunda
Engineering Fundamentals. eFunda provides units and constants, equations, material properties, information on processes and design.
Index to Physical, Chemical, and Other Property Data
Excellent index to selected library & internet resources that contain chemical, physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, toxicological & safety data. Print locations correspond to that of Arizona State’s Science Library - use Library Search Advanced Search - Library Catalog to find UCI locations.
Inorganic Crystal Structures Database
A completely new PHP-MySQL Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD-for-WWW). Users are able to search the index via a number of terms, including author or element count.
MatWeb
MatWeb’s database of material properties includes thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, and polyolefins; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, and other engineering materials.
more...less...
Advanced features only available to registered and premium users.
Nano, Quantum, & Statistical Mechanics & Thermodynamics Data & Property Calculation Websites
Useful links to thermodynamics-related web resources, software (including calculators) properties and data. From the Thermodynamics Research Laboratory at University of Illinois.
Powder Diffraction Files (PDF-4)
From ICDD, known as PDF-4 for one user at a time. Available as a single use installation on Computer #563 in the Science Library Grand Reading Room - can be reserved for increments of 30-120 min using the Library Reservations system at https://spaces.lib.uci.edu/reserve/powder/
The ICDD powder diffraction file (PDF) is a collection of single phase X-ray powder diffraction patterns, maintained and distributed by the International Centre for Diffraction Data. The PDF has been the primary reference for powder diffraction data since 1938.
more...less...
The primary information in the PDF is the collection of d-I data – the d-spacing (d) determined from the angle of diffraction and the intensity (I), experimentally measured under the best possible conditions for a phase-pure material. The data for each pattern are presented in the form of tables of characteristic interplanar spacings and the corresponding relative intensities. Miller indices and other supplemental data, such as crystal system, density, or cell information, are also included when known.
Powder Diffraction File Tutorials Videos
(ICDD)
The tutorials demonstrate common features and applications; hints and shortcuts; embedded application software in the PDF; use of embedded editorial and quality analyses; and
different features in each database.
Tutorials ICDD YouTube Channel
2021 PDF-4+ Database Demonstration
Navigating a Powder diffraction File (PDF) Entry
Advantages of Using PDF-4+
2022 PDF-4+ Tools & Searches
Sort, Order and Graph Data
Digital Pattern Simulations
Spectra Online
Over 6000 IR, MS, NMR, UV/Visible and NIR spectra compiled from various public domain sources. Searchable by name, CAS registry number, molecular formula, mp, bp. View spectra, chemical structures, chemical properties (if available).

Cambridge Structural Database

Cambridge Structural Database
Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is the principal product of the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) based in Cambridge, UK. It is the central focus of the CSD System, which also comprises software for database access, structure visualization and data analysis, and structural knowledge bases derived from the CSD. It will primarily serve those affiliated with the Departments of Chemistry, Materials Science and Chemical Engineering or anyone interested in chemical and crystallographic information and x-ray diffraction. It requires site and confirmation codes to register the product after it is installed and for the quarterly updates. The complete packages are several Gigabytes in size and are compatible with Linux, Unix and Windows platforms and also available for Apple/Mac installations. It requires that you download data onto your own computer and will not be accessible on any of the Library computers. Before downloading on a laboratory or campus computer, make sure that the files can be accommodated. Please read all the documentation for this resource providing information about the current version and how to reference the data from the different sets. This database does require a robust computer system with a significant capacity for storage and manipulation as the files are very large. Please also remember the database shall be used exclusively for the purpose of scientific teaching and research and that the results of such research may be published through the normal academic channels, subject to the inclusion of a proper acknowledgment to the CCDC as noted in Part IV of the Schedule to the licensed agreement known as Acknowledgments at http://software.chem.ucla.edu/csd/ Additional documentation is also at the prior URL.

The CSD records bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for:
* organic molecules
* metal-organic compounds

...whose 3D structures have been determined using
* X-ray diffraction
* neutron diffraction

The CSD records results of:
* single crystal studies
* powder diffraction studies
which yield 3D atomic coordinate data for at least all non-H atoms. In some cases the CCDC is unable to obtain coordinates, and incomplete entries are archived to the CSD.

The CSD includes crystal structure data arising from:
* publications in the open literature
* Private Communications to the CSD (via direct data deposition)

The CSD DOES NOT store:
* Polypeptides and polysaccharides having more than 24 units. These
are recorded in the Protein Data Bank http://www.rcsb.org/pdb/
* Oligonucleotides. These are stored in the Nucleic Acids Data Bank
http://ndbserver.rutgers.edu/
* Inorganic structures, which are stored in the Inorganic Crystal
Structure Database http://www.fiz-karlsruhe.de/icsd_content.html
* Metals and Alloys, which are stored in CRYSTMET®
http://www.tothcanada.com/

For additional information, please Mitchell Brown, Chemistry Librarian at mcbrown@uci.edu or x49732.