Research Guides: Evidence-Based Medicine Subject Guide: Home

Health Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Linda Suk-Ling Murphy, MLIS
Health Sciences Librarian
University of California, Irvine
The UCI Libraries
P.O. Box 19557
Irvine, CA 92623-9557

(949) 824-6419

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences

Ask a Librarian

Access Key (3 icons)

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

Key Databases

Links to sites that provide searches for evidence-based literature by limiting the search to the best evidence.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937. Topics covered are related to nursing, physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of high-quality databases that consists of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and Epistemonikos Systematic Reviews. CDSR includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. CENTRAL is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. CDAs provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews.
DynaMedex This link opens in a new window Current and accurate, evidence-based content for practicing clinicians. A multidisciplinary systematic database of emerging scientific literature and clinical practice guidelines.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window Natural Medicines provides evidence-based information on herbal products, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, homeopathic products, and many other natural remedies. It contains multiple databases and interactive features including an Effectiveness Checker, Nutrient Depletion Checker, and Natural Product/Drug Interaction Checker. Browsable diseases and conditions allow you to see which natural products might be effective. For mobile access instructions, go to "Mobile Resources in Medicine" and select the Tab, "Natural Medicines" https://guides.lib.uci.edu/mobilemedicine.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window A clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence.

Find Clinical Trials

Best Bets for Finding Clinical Trials

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
Database of bibliographic reports of randomized controlled trials from PubMed, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, ICTRP, and CINAHL.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Database of clinical research studies and details about study results, managed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP)
World Health Organization (WHO) sponsored database containing the trial registration data sets provided by numerous international registries, including links to the full original records.
CenterWatch
Clinical trials listing service from WCG. Browse trials by condition, therapeutic area, or location.

International Clinical Trials Registries

HHS.gov Index of Clinical Trials Registries
US Department of Health & Human Services page with links and information about clinical trial registries throughout African, Asian, Caribbean, European, Latin American, Middle Eastern, North American, and Pacific countries.

PubMed Tools

Clinical Queries
This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics. Select Clinical Queries from the PubMed Homepage. Enter your search terms in the search box and select the relevant filters and scope.
MeSH Database
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM-controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing PubMed articles.
Single Citation Matcher
Select Single Citation Matcher from the PubMed homepage. Use this tool to find PubMed citations by entering as much (or as little) information you have such as words from the article title, publication year, journal name, author(s), etc.