Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

NIH Public Access Policy: My NCBI

Instructions and resources to help the UCI research community comply with the NIH Public Access Policy.
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/nih

MY NCBI

What is NCBI?

  • The National Center for Biotechnology Information provides access to NLM databases and supports customized services from MyNCBI, including My Bibliography & SciENcv.

Why create a My NCBI account?  


 

  • Link to your eRA, NIHMS account
  • Manage your publications through My Bibliography
    1. Import your publications directly from PubMed.
    2. Manually add your publications that are not indexed in PubMed.
    3. Manage your PMC (PubMed Central) submissions.
  • Access your SciENcv and create biosketches
  • Save search strategies and results, and create current awareness alerts. 

How to login to My NCBI? 

  • Go to PubMed@UCI from the Grunigen Medical Library Homepage 
  • Click on My NCBI in the upper right corner 
  • Sign in with your eRA Commons username & password 
  • If no eRA Commons account, register/sign in with NCBI login
  • If applicable, add delegate(s) to the account. Delegates should use their NCBI login

NIH tools and how they work together

My NCBI tools assist users with NIH grant applications & reporting

Source: Arizona Health Sciences Library, Tucson, My NCBI Tools & the New NIH Biosketch: Overview. Last accessed 02/10/2010.  URL: http://libguides.library.arizona.edu/ahsl/NIHbiosketch. ​

 

My NCBI Home Page and Features

This 2-minute video provides a quick tour of the new, customizable My NCBI homepage and functions.

PubMed My NCBI

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides the My NCBI tool which, once signed in, retains user information and preferences to provide customized services in PubMed and other databases. 

My NCBI Features in PubMed

  • Save searches & set up automatic e-mail alerts
  • Display format preferences
  • Filter options
  • Highlighting search terms
  • Can link to your eRA Commons account 
  • Keep records of recent activity searches for 6 months
  • Access to My Bibliography
  • Allow users to set up the NIH public access compliance statuses
  • Direct access to SciENcv, a researcher biosketch profile service.
  • My NCBI Help