Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Gender and Sexuality Studies: Organizations

This guide supports teaching and research in Women, Gender and Feminist Studies at UCI. UCI has a strong Women's Studies department, & research in Women's/Gender/Feminist Studies is also based in other departments, such as History, Sociology, etc.
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/WoStF2015

Research Organizations

Feminist.com

Feminist.com has promoted women’s global leadership, empowerment and activism for nearly 20 years. We have served as the Internet’s definitive hub of resources and information, a networking engine, and online “home” advancing women-friendly organizations, increasing civic involvement, and promoting self-sufficiency, education, spiritual health and general wellness for women the world over.

Feminist Majority Foundation

The Feminist Majority Foundation (FMF), which was founded in 1987, is a cutting edge organization dedicated to women's equality, reproductive health, and non-violence. In all spheres, FMF utilizes research and actionto empower women economically, socially, and politically.

Global List of Women's Organizations

A list of women organizations from around the world and is categorized by country.

International Organizations: Women and Gender

UC Berkeley: This guide serves as a basic research tool for international organizations, women and gender issues.

International Center for Research on Women

ICRW's mission is to empower women, advance gender equality and fight poverty in the developing world. To accomplish this, ICRW works with partners to conduct empirical research, build capacity and advocate for evidence-based, practical ways to change policies and programs.

 

 

Research Centers

A Celebration of Women Writers 

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement

This collection contains manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s. 

Everyday Life and Women in America

This digital collection is an unparalleled resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Gerritsen Collection, Women's History Online, 1543-1945

The broad scope of the collection allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.

Institute for Women's Policy Research

The Institute for Women’s Policy Research conducts rigorous research and disseminates its findings to address the needs of women, promote public dialog, and strengthen families, communities, and societies. IWPR works with policymakers, scholars, and public interest groups to design, execute, and disseminate research that illuminates economic and social policy issues affecting women and families and to build a network of individuals and organizations that conduct and use women-oriented policy research. 

National Organization for Women

The Foundation focuses on a broad range of women’s rights issues, including economic justice, pay equity, racial discrimination, women’s health and body image, women with disabilities, reproductive rights and justice, family law, marriage and family formation rights of same-sex couples, representation of women in the media, and global feminist issues.

National Women's History Project

The NWHP is known nationally as the only clearinghouse providing information and training in multicultural women’s history for educators, community organizations, and parents-for anyone wanting to expand their understanding of women contributions to U. S. history.

National Women's Studies Association

Established in 1977, the National Women's Studies Association has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.  The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material.

Suffragist Oral History Project

Includes a collection of interviews with twelve leaders and participants in the woman's suffrage movement. Tape-recorded and transcribed oral histories preserved the memories of these remarkable women, documenting formative experiences, activities to win the right to vote for women, and careers as leaders of the movements for welfare and labor reform, world peace, and the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. 

Women's Studies Librarian's Office

The Office of the UW System Gender and Women's Studies (GWS) Librarian is one of the premier resources for support of gender and women's studies scholarship and librarianship. The GWS Librarian provides bibliographic and curriculum support, inter-institutional cooperation, information sharing, and advocacy related to the field of women's and gender studies and to gender-focused scholarship in the traditional disciplines.

Women Watch: UN Information and Resources on 

Womenwatch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system, including the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN Women), the United Nations Secretariat, regional commissions, funds, programmes, specialized agencies, and academic and research institutions.

Working Women, 1800 -1930

Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.

Subject Guide

Christina Woo's picture
Christina Woo
Contact:
Langson Library 146

cjwoo@uci.edu

(949) 824-4974

DIAGRAM

Langson Library